We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Romantic Weekend Getaway!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 21c Museum Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added 21c Museum Hotel to your Saves list
21c Museum Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   609 Walnut St, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Complimentary Upgrade
Ranked #2 of 48 Hotels in Cincinnati
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
“Great Romantic Weekend Getaway!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

My husband and I spent a wonderful romantic weekend at this hotel. We booked the Ultimate Romantic package, that included turned down service, breakfast and dinner vouchers, and a voucher for the on site spa. We were very well pampered. Plus this hotel had wonderful art to view and was just across the street from the Aronoff Center, where we were able to see a wonderful show. I highly recommend this hotel for couples looking for a romantic get away.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry L, General Manager at 21c Museum Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear TamiM1111,
Thank you so much for your kind words and recommendations for others looking for a great place to spend a romantic weekend. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed the art and the arts Cincinnati offers and that you felt properly pampered. We hope to see you again at 21c.
All the best!
Gerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    66
    10
    7
    3
See reviews for
47
185
11
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

I stayed at 21C Louisville over Valentine's day weekend. A couple weeks later when heading to Cincinnati, I had a choice of using my chain points...or calling 21C and booking a room. I'm glad I did. We enjoyed the art and really enjoyed the hybrid shower which would have held 3-4 people. The staff saw I had brought drinks and offered to get me a fridge and wine glasses. The only thing I'd improve is recommending restaurants. Luckily, we went on our own and we love, love, love playing with the penguins. They bring out just the right amount of deviance and creativity...and the fact the staff doesn't get wound up about guests posing for pictures, taking one to dinner or anything, is awesome.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry L, General Manager at 21c Museum Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear jforehand1972,
Thank you for sharing your experience at 21c with us and for not using your chain points. We are glad that you stayed with us. It is so good to know that you enjoyed your stay and so many aspects of the property. We look forward to your return to 21c and Cincinnati.
Once again, thank you.
All the best!
Gerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midway, Kentucky
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed one night here,the cost per night is a little more pricey then what we typically spend but it was so worth it! The location of the hotel is phenomenal. We were literally steps from the Arnoff Theater (where we watched Wicked), very close to the Fountain Square and there were many restaurants within easy walking distance. And the hotel itself is amazing! Wonderfully artistic and funky, great attention to detail. The art work scattered throughout the hotel was interesting,fun and whimsical. The only negative being some of the bars close by where very noisy, my husband and I didn't sleep until they closed. Not much the hotel can do about that...I would definitely stay again!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry L, General Manager at 21c Museum Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Sonya K.,
We appreciate you sharing your recent experience at 21c with us. Thank you for taking the time to write. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad that you found our location, art and property to be to your liking. We look forward to your return to 21c.
Once again, thank you.
All the best!
Gerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

My daughter and I stayed for a weekend spring break trip. Attentive service since we pulled up until our departure this morning. Extreme comfortable beds and pillows. Perfect location for the theatre and the St. pat celebrations in town. Loved the art throughout. They were out of fridges but minor inconvenience. Highly recommend! I will be back!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry L, General Manager at 21c Museum Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear suzindy8933,
Thank you for taking time to write and share your experience at 21c. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed our location, art and service for your spring break trip. We look forward to your return to 21c and to Cincinnati soon.
All the best!
Gerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

I had a wonderful experience at the 21c Museum Hotel in Cincinnati. I went up with some friends on a mid-week getaway and stayed for a night. The hotel is in the heart of downtown Cincinnati with a number of options for shows, shopping and restaurants all within a few miles. We enjoyed cocktails, dinner and breakfast at the Metropolis restaurant in the hotel. The food was amazing. The rooms where gorgeous, spacious and interesting. The art museum was a welcome change to my typical hotel experience. I can't wait to go back to try the spa.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry L, General Manager at 21c Museum Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Karen H,
Thank you, so very much, for taking time to share your experience at 21c. We are delighted to learn that it was wonderful for your mid week getaway. We are also glad to hear that we are a welcome change to your typical facility. We look forward to your return to Cincinnati and to 21c.
Thank you.
All the Best!
Gerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

I stayed at C21 twice. The staff is fantastic, and the overall experience is great. One issue that will make or break my decision to stay there next time is the type of room I am offered. Some are larger with well-appointed unique furniture, and most importantly, comfy memory foam mattresses, while the others are small and completely generic, with uncomfortable hard mattresses. I found my second room stuffy and had hard time to sleep. I would be happy to return to the larger rooms, but would otherwise choose a different high-end hotel if offered the smaller ones.

Room Tip: Insist on a room with a memory foam mattress. FYI, the small rooms are on the stuffy side and are ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry L, General Manager at 21c Museum Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear yoh972,
It is great to have your feedback from your experiences at 21c. Thank you for taking time to write and to share. We are delighted that you found the staff fantastic and enjoyed the overall experience. We are disappointed to learn that you did not get a great nights rest in one of the rooms. We do use the same mattress and bedding setup in all of our rooms. We do look forward to your return and to placing you into a room of your liking so that you can continue to enjoy 21c. That is very important to us.
Thank you, so very much.
All the Best!
Gerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

My husband and I spent one night at the 21c. It's in a great location - surrounded by good restaurants and arts venues. It's very hip, but comfortable. Even though it's a trendy place (at least by Cincinnati standards), the staff members were very friendly and helpful. We were upgraded in our room without a request on our part. And staff members generally aimed to please. Our room was spacious and outfitted with contemporary, yet comfortable, furniture. We overlooked Walnut - which was good in that gave us a fun view and bad in that it was noisy. It ended up being particularly noisy because of steel plates placed on the road due to construction. All night long we hard thump, thump, thump whenever a car drove over this. Obviously, this is a short term problem - but we simply did not get a good night's sleep while we were there. Provided that the noise problem is solved, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry L, General Manager at 21c Museum Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Dushman,
Thank you for taking time to share you recent experience at 21c. Your feedback is valuable. We are delighted that you found the room comfortable and the team friendly and helpful. I am sorry about the noise that you heard during the night. We hope that this will not be an issue in the future as well. The progress downtown continues to move forward and with it comes some unfortunate side effects such as the noise. Once this phase of the streetcar work moves on it will take the plates with it.
We look forward to your return to 21c, and to a better nights rest.
Once again, thank you.
All the Best!

Gerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 21c Museum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 21c Museum Hotel

Address: 609 Walnut St, Cincinnati, OH 45202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cincinnati
#2 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
#6 Family Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 21c Museum Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located adjacent to the Lois and Richard Rosenthal Center for Contemporary Art and across the street from the Aronoff Center for the Arts, 21c Cincinnati works to foster the ongoing revival of Downtown Cincinnati and strengthen its role as a cultural destination.Working with the Cincinnati Center City Development Corporation (3CDC), 21c renovated the former Metropole Hotel and embraced the architecture of the historic landmark to create an exciting new space for guests to experience genuine hospitality, view cutting edge contemporary art, and enjoy culinary experiences that celebrates the region's sustainable producers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your 21c Museum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 21c Museum Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.