We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Travel made pleasurable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 21c Museum Hotel

Save Saved
You added 21c Museum Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
21c Museum Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   609 Walnut St, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Complimentary Upgrade
Ranked #2 of 48 Hotels in Cincinnati
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Business Travel made pleasurable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is a delightful surprise. Of course it really is an art Museum as the name suggests, but it has all the creature comforts that most hotels skimp on. The air dryer is powerful, the products are Malin and Goetz, cotton balls and qtips on vanity, large closet with mirror, power strip on desk and very friendly and informative staff.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry L, General Manager at 21c Museum Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Anne-Marie K,
Thank you so very much for sharing your recent experience at 21c with us. We are excited that you found us to be a delightful surprise and that we made business travel pleasurable. It is even better knowing that you feel the team here was friendly and informative.
We look forward to your return to 21c and to Cincinnati.
Thank you.
All the Best!
Gerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    57
    10
    6
    1
See reviews for
42
145
10
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We stayed at the 21c Museum Hotel in Cincinnati for two nights in May 2013 while in town for the Flying Pig Marathon. Despite our rather late arrival after the Kentucky Derby, the check-in was easy and quick. The rooms were spacious and comfortable, and both the layout and decor felt thoughtful, which is to say, not "cookie-cutter" like many other places. The Art Gallery on the (2nd & 3rd?) floor was an interesting addition. The staff was friendly and helpful, and overall, the location was the perfect distance from all of our activities.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry L, General Manager at 21c Museum Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear melwol,
Your comments are very important to us, thank you for taking time to share your experiences at 21c. We are delighted that you enjoyed the property, discovered the Art throughout the facility and that we were able to provide a wonderful stay for you. Looking forward to your return to 21c, be it in Cincinnati, Bentonville or Louisville.

Once again, thank you,
All the Best!
Gerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

For my husband’s birthday this past weekend, we got fancy and booked a room at the 21c Museum Hotel. I’ve been wanting to stay for a while, but never really had a special occasion to do so. The rooms are nicely sized for a downtown hotel and no tub but the tile shower is cool. If you’re modest, you can kick the yellow rubber ducky that lives in the shower out, or just cover his eyes. The room comes stocked with a couple different magazines, some of them highlighting the local areas in and around Cincy, which is cool. Turn down service was fab and they left a yummy chocolate treat on our pillow. In addition to a full art gallery, you’ll find really fun, artsy details throughout all of the common spaces and suites.

After unpacking and relaxing, we made our way to Metropole for a cocktail and a beer. Drinks were really, really good. The bar was full when we arrived but there is standing room complete with a shelf which makes for perfect people watching in the dining room.

We celebrated my husband's birthday dinner across the street at Prime 47, which is amazing as well. The next morning, I called the front desk and asked if it was possible to tack on another hour before checking out so we could sleep in. Check in is at 4PM, but they graciously allowed us to come a bit earlier, and leave, later.

We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry L, General Manager at 21c Museum Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear megalinn03,
Thank you for taking time to share your recent experiences at 21c with us. It is wonderful that we were a great location for your amazing staycation to celebrate your husband's birthday. We look forward to your return to 21c.
Thank you.
All the Best!
Gerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Sure the hotel and museum are beautiful, the accomodations are top notch and the people that make it happen from the valet to the housekeeper (and all the folks in between) are fantastic but it is the little things that make me love this hotel. The attention to detail is second to none,,ice bucket filled for you, water already in the coffee maker (stuff they thought about before I did), the cute narratives you find in the hotel info, taking a little bit of information you share with them about something you like to do and in turn they make something memorable for you. Whether you book the standard king or a suite, you recieve the same special touches every time-trust me as I have done both. I have never had the same wonderful (and consistent) experience at other boutique hotels or marquee luxury hotels. This is the only place to stay in Cincinnati....I only wish there was a 21c everywhere I go.

Room Tip: There is not a bad room choice, if you are on a budget the standard room is wonderful but if you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry L, General Manager at 21c Museum Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Mark F,
Wow! You have made my day. Thank you for sharing your experiences at 21c with us. We are all proud of our team in that we have been consistent in delivering a wonderful experience for you. Please let us know if there are things that we can do to make your next stay as enjoyable as the most recent. We look forward to seeing soon at 21c, whether that is in Cincinnati, Louisville, Bentonville, or coming soon to Lexington and Durham.
All the Best.
Thank you,
Gerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

The hotel is really very very nice! Impressive the modern-art installations and the Lobby's restaurant and public areas design. The rooms are very comfortable and clean. Flawless. The restaurant is very good as well. Not inexpensive.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry L, General Manager at 21c Museum Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Ganahal_AG,
Thank you for taking time to share your experience at 21c. We appreciate the compliments very much. We are delighted that you enjoyed the art, Metropole restaurant, and the hotel. We look forward to your return to Cincinnati and to 21c.
Thank you.
All the Best!
Gerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Stayed at the hotel for a girls spa weekend. From the arrival to the hotel, the valet staff was extremely helpful and the check-in staff was even better! Spa was amazing, they greeted you by name and were super nice; the treatments were some of the best i've ever had. The rooms were in perfect condition and beds were extremely comfortable. The food at the restaurant was very good and the staff was very friendly. Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel to others!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry L, General Manager at 21c Museum Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear TriciaK_Indiana,
So glad that you enjoyed 21c for a girls spa weekend. This is wonderful. We are delighted that you found the spa amazing, the staff friendly, and the food at Metropole to your liking. We look forward to your return to 21c and to Cincinnati.
Thank you.
All the Best.
Gerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

This place has a great atmosphere. The interior is unique and stylish. The bathroom was just great, although ours didn't have a bathtub. Food was delicious. I would highly recommend tartar steak. Every staff was very friendly and helpful. I would stay this place again when I visit Cincinnati.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry L, General Manager at 21c Museum Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Ponkich,
it is so good to learn that you enjoyed your recent stay at 21c Cincinnati. We do appreciate you taking time to share your experience with us. We look forward to your return to 21c and to Cincinnati.
Thank you,
All the Best.
Gerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 21c Museum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 21c Museum Hotel

Address: 609 Walnut St, Cincinnati, OH 45202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cincinnati
#2 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
#6 Family Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 21c Museum Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located adjacent to the Lois and Richard Rosenthal Center for Contemporary Art and across the street from the Aronoff Center for the Arts, 21c Cincinnati works to foster the ongoing revival of Downtown Cincinnati and strengthen its role as a cultural destination.Working with the Cincinnati Center City Development Corporation (3CDC), 21c renovated the former Metropole Hotel and embraced the architecture of the historic landmark to create an exciting new space for guests to experience genuine hospitality, view cutting edge contemporary art, and enjoy culinary experiences that celebrates the region's sustainable producers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your 21c Museum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 21c Museum Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.