We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 21c Museum Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added 21c Museum Hotel to your Saves list
21c Museum Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   609 Walnut St, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 48 Hotels in Cincinnati
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This was a wonderful hotel. We were upgraded to a suite, the service was excellent overall, and the food was quite good. The room was clean and they provide really nice bath products. It was within walking distance to everything (we were in town for a wedding). I would definitely recommend this hotel. The decor is a bit unique for my taste but that's personal.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    67
    10
    7
    3
See reviews for
50
189
11
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Stayed here recently. The hotel is amazing, wonderful art work and excellent service. Only problem is it's in the heart of downtown, it's very noisy and there was a pub next door that played extremely loud, hard rock until 2am or so, so beware!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Spent two nights for business at the 21c Museum hotel in Cincinnati. The lobby looks like a modern art gallery. Quite a surprise. The room was absolutely perfect with a lot of attention to details. It is the kind of room you take pictures of to show your friends. Excellent, large, comfortable bed. Variety of pillows. Giant, modern bathroom. Excellent lighting. Flawless WiFi connection without the need to re-enter a complex code every 20 minutes. On the first morning, the in-room breakfast was 15 minutes late but staff reacted extremely well to my complaint. All in all an excellent experience. Unfortunately I did not have the time to experience the spa.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Having enjoyed Louisville's fabulous 21C over the past 7 years, we were overjoyed to see this addition to the fold. What a great recycled hotel building, location, art, restaurant...and a rooftop bar to boot! Not cheap, but worth it!

We splurged and even got a separate bedroom unit. It was an anniversary celebration and I had asked the front desk to arrange for a floral arrangement to be in the room upon our arrival. Since I only thought of that the morning of the day we were to arrive, I gave them a price range and asked them to use their own judgement, though some roses would be nice. We were stunned by the beautiful vase of roses and eucalyptus encountered as we entered our room. A surprise to us both was awaiting in the bedroom. One of the hotel's signature yellow penguins was in the bedroom looking out the window! The shower/bath was probably the most modern and extensive we've seen. Wow!

Like Louisville's 21C, you meander around the public areas to discover and view all the art, much of which will change out every six months. Friday evening we had a wonderful meal in the restaurant. Our valet-parked car was quickly retrieved for us Saturday for a trip up to Mt. Adams to the main art museum. We returned in the afternoon for a walk next door to the huge Contemporary Art Center (CAC), then walked a mere block and a half to the Blue Wisp Club for dinner and some fantastic jazz show. We returned for a trip up to the beautiful rooftop bar. On a Saturday night, It was crowded with younger adults but still enjoyable.

The package rate we chose for a modest increase of ~$20/night gave us $100 to spend in the restaurant, free admission for two to the CAC and $30 to spend in the hotel gift shop. I think it was called the Good Neighbor package. Go for it!

One minor glitch: in the restaurant, our merlot was served chilled. Also, at check-in, the front desk clerk said our room had a great view out the front of the hotel. In fact, it looked into the rear. This would be one major area for potential improvement. When compared to everhthing else one encounters at 21C, the rear open-topped atrium screams drabness. Such inventive minds can surely improve upon this view, which roughly half the rooms gaze upon. Also, fan noise from this atrium is constant and noticeable in the room. For us, it gradually became white noise at night. It may bother others. Again, put some inventive engineers to work here, 21C!

A weekend to remember!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLand, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Really great stay. Excellent meal in the bar, nice environment. Super clean everywhere. When leaving the hotel, the GM helped me with my bag, what a guy. How often does that happen. Very cool decor. Nice touch with the rubber sucky in the shower. Not sure how many channels on the tv... Didn't seem to end. I really hope to stay at this hotel again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Not quite what it would like to be!! Can't compete with the rooftop bar at the Residence Inn Downtown. Service ok I suppose but don't expect to get drinks served in a can andat that price they should be - not the way it's done in the UK!
Sort it out or it will fail!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed here following a wedding, and while I don't recall much about the evening before our arrival, the 21c definitely stands out in my memory! Everything about it was wonderful - location, decor, rooms, restaurant, rooftop bar, etc etc. Loved it ALL! Had a hip and unique feel while still being quiet and comfortable. Wish we didn't have to stay with family when we come in town, because I want to come here all the time.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to 21c Museum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 21c Museum Hotel

Address: 609 Walnut St, Cincinnati, OH 45202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cincinnati
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
#6 Family Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 21c Museum Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located adjacent to the Lois and Richard Rosenthal Center for Contemporary Art and across the street from the Aronoff Center for the Arts, 21c Cincinnati works to foster the ongoing revival of Downtown Cincinnati and strengthen its role as a cultural destination.Working with the Cincinnati Center City Development Corporation (3CDC), 21c renovated the former Metropole Hotel and embraced the architecture of the historic landmark to create an exciting new space for guests to experience genuine hospitality, view cutting edge contemporary art, and enjoy culinary experiences that celebrates the region's sustainable producers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your 21c Museum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 21c Museum Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.