We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They Think of Everything” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added 21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati to your Saves list
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   609 Walnut St, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Comp Upgrade
Ranked #2 of 49 Hotels in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“They Think of Everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

From the moment that you check-in to the moment when you are driving home, they think of everything at the 21c. Service is unquestionably the focus here, along with quirky style and luxury.

Check in and check out were both painless and easy. There is no concierge desk because the front desk handles everything. The penguins and meerkats are fun, and you can actually take a penguin to your room.

The guest room was comfortable and elegant, and everything I expected. Coming back from a concert I went to get some ice and found they had already left ice in our ice bin during turn down service. I really appreciated that. Late night room service was excellent!

My only minor concerns were no access to the rooftop lounge from within the hotel. No one wants to walk outside and around the corner to get to the bar. And the line was too long for us to even consider. The other concern is no shuttle service is provided. An elegant competitor offers an Olde English Taxi shuttle. Be sure to reserve spa space early. it does fill up quickly.

It's expensive, but can be worth it if luxury is what you are looking for. I look forward to returning!

Room Tip: Truthfully, any room is great! Grab a penguin when you arrive! You can take one to your room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    83
    13
    9
    5
See reviews for
64
231
15
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

An interesting, clean looking and very modern hotel that houses a surprising collection of contemporary art housed in an old completely restored building in the center of town.
The reception is attended by 2 very pleasant and gracious assistants. Their PCs are placed on a glass covered table that contains thousands of multicolored tiny silicon little fellows that appear to support the glass top, a beautiful work of art by itself.

The first two floors display an array of contemporary works of art, as well the elevators and each of the hotel floors.

The room assigned was of an average size, very clean and slick looking, well appointed with new good quality furniture (quite a relief from the cheap furniture encountered in many of the hotel chains), a good size working table with excellent lighting, a 42" flat screen HD TV, a king size bed with a great mattress dressed in first class linen with plenty of pillows. A well stocked mini bar, a Nespresso coffee machine with 3 different coffee capsules (already filled with water). The room was very well illuminated with well thought off light controls. The closet was of average size, equipped with an ironing table.

The bathroom walls were covered with modern white ceramic tiles with a few tastily spaced fun ceramic body parts, such as ears, noses and lips. The counter top was covered with white marble and contained a large rectangular water basin, equipped with first class fixtures. The amenities were all of excellent quality.

Throughout the hotel, the staff was polite, helpful and very attentive; the hotel receptionist even addressed me by my family name.

On one evening, the legendary B.B.King with his entourage was seen registering at the hotel lobby.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Had another concert event to attend so we decided to return to the Boutique Hotel setting. So, many choices in Cincinnati and so much variation in pricing. It is all overwhelming. We finally decided to stay at The 21c Museum and Hotel in Cincinnati. I was a bit intimidated because I had never stayed at the 21C and thought they may be too much like some over the top South Beach hotel. So, we pulled into the Valet and started our journey. The valet service was quick, friendly and informative. They took my keys, handed me a valet pass then opened the doors to 21C for us. Upon our entry I found the lobby/gallery to be open, well lit, and felt very welcomed by the front desk clerk checking us in. This hotel is a virtual feast for the eyes. Everything you pass is artwork. From the front desk to the mirrors in the elevators. And the room is chic, comfortable and lets you know you are going to have the experience of your life. The room key is wireless and does not require you to insert it in the locks. You simply wave it over the lock and your in. You also cannot use the elevator without a key, so it makes you fell very secure. As mentioned, the rooms were fabulous. Large bathrooms, with quirky design, chic sitting and sleeping areas with limited but, unique art on the walls. From the chair, bed, blanket and furniture, it's all about the art. And there is no felling of "don't touch that". Everything is accessible and there for your enjoyment. After check in we decided to go off property to Nada for dinner only due to time constraints but, they have a restaurant...Metropole..which has a very unique menu just down stairs. Upon our return at the end of the night, we ordered room service and enjoyed some Brie, Gorganzolla, hearth bread and a sweet chutney. We grabbed a couple of drinks from the well stocked mini bar fridge and prepared to go get some ice. To our surprise, the ice bucket had been filled by turndown service. Nice touch! We sadly had to check out the next day and received the same professional, friendly service as we did checking in. 21C has it going when it comes to Boutique Hotels. Definitely worth the money to be pampered.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level Contributor
101 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Spent the night at the 21C to attend my son's graduation. This is our second stay at the hotel. Unlike the first stay that was flawless, this one had its issues. I reserved 3 rooms for myself and wife, my sister and daughter, and my mother in law. When we arrived, they only could only find the reservations for 2 of our rooms even though I had the confirmation emails. It took about 20 minutes for the front desk staff to find a third room. Each room was to be paid for by separate credit cards. The rooms are great with nice beds, and large, modern bathrooms.

Upon checkout, I received 3 emails with the room bills attached. When I checked my credit card on line, I noticed that there were 2 rooms charged to my accounts, not one. When I called the hotel, the accounting office told me that they had no record of one of the cards, which I clearly saw being scanned when we checked in. Make sure you request a hard copy of the bill next time and confirm that the charge cards are correct before you leave.

Other than that, this is probably the nicest boutique hotel in Cincinnati. Check out the rooftop bar if you go. The accounting and reservations brings it down a grade.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin H, Guest Relations Manager at 21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience- your feedback is invaluable to improving the level of service we provide to our guests. It's quite clear that we missed the mark with handling your reservation and billing. I would like to discuss the issues with you further so we can prevent these occurrences in the future. Please feel free to contact me if you would like to continue this discussion.

Thank you,

Justin Ham
Rooms Director
513.578.6606
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cincinnati,ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Yes it's pricey but worth it! Meet your friends or treat someone special at this hip boutique hotel near Aronoff and tons of restaurants. Staff is friendly and welcoming. Rooms have great luxurious bedding, cool baths but No ice machine :(
Everything feels highest quality and sparkly clean. Very contemporary decor.
Best of all is Rooftop Terrace Bar filled with lovely sitting spots and beautiful people! Great wine glasses too.
Enjoy it all/ you'll want to return, trust me!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte
Level Contributor
102 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

There's not a lot of choices downtown to stay that I would consider over a 3 star property. You have the Cincinnatian Hotel but it's so old and tired. I find it not worth the money. 21c is a very chic and modern property that on the surface level you may believe is sterile. The menu on the attached restaurant is a bit fancy with Bison Burgers and funny named items, but the food quality and service are above par. Hotel service is great and exceeded what my expectations would be for this type of property. The room was fantastic. There's a whimsical charm to it with art integrated into your shower (you'll have to ask them) and large bathroom with walk in shower. The bathroom floors were awesome to walk on (how often do people talk about floors?). I must say the best part is the bed. I have traveled all over the world and it was one of the top beds, sheets, and pillows I ever experienced. This is the place to hang and chill. If I had one thing to change it would be the types of bulbs they use in the room lamps. They are very dim (room 715) and the AC was set only to Auto and couldn't get it to stay on. Small complaints and really are first world problems. Five Star Property.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed one night as a couple in August 2013. We had a Luxury King room on the top floor. It was more like a junior suite with a large sitting room, two large sofas and dining table in a separate room with a dividing door from the bedroom. Everything was topnotch. The room was well equipped with a large flat screen in both rooms. Coffee maker, minibar, free wifi, iphone dock/speaker ( I love these, if only for charging your phone overnight). Well equipped bathroom with plenty of luxe towels, hairdryer, normal mix of shampoos/gels etc. Large shower area with a full tub also, double vanity. The bed was wonderful, fine cotton sheets, not too soft.
We visited the Terrace rooftop bar , great on a summer evening but very popular, be prepared to stand. By the way, if you are staying in the hotel ask the staff to let you off at your floor from the Terrace elevator - a normal room key will not accomplish this so you would have to go to the ground floor and into the hotel and back up the normal elevator.
We also ate in the Metropole (Separate review) which was superb.
All in all we found it to be a wonderful stay and would go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cincinnati hotels
Central Business District
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
Central Business District
Residence Inn Cincinnati Downtown
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
#14 of 49 in Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 stars 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown Hotel
Central Business District
Cincinnatian Hotel
Cincinnatian Hotel
#18 of 49 in Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 stars 632 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Cincinnati
The Westin Cincinnati
#15 of 49 in Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 stars 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati

Address: 609 Walnut St, Cincinnati, OH 45202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cincinnati
#1 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
#5 Family Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati 4.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located adjacent to the Lois and Richard Rosenthal Center for Contemporary Art and across the street from the Aronoff Center for the Arts, 21c Cincinnati works to foster the ongoing revival of Downtown Cincinnati and strengthen its role as a cultural destination. Working with the Cincinnati Center City Development Corporation (3CDC), 21c renovated the former Metropole Hotel and embraced the architecture of the historic landmark to create an exciting new space for guests to experience genuine hospitality, view cutting edge contemporary art, and enjoy culinary experiences that celebrates the region's sustainable producers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your 21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.