We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best that Cincinnati has to offer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 21c Museum Hotel

Save Saved
You added 21c Museum Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
21c Museum Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   609 Walnut St, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Complimentary Upgrade
Ranked #2 of 47 hotels in Cincinnati
Lexington, KY
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best that Cincinnati has to offer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We have stayed in Cincinnati multiple times throughout the years (read my other reviews). We've had tremendous trouble finding a hotel that we feel comfortable coming back to. We had previously stayed at a 21c Hotel in Louisville, KY, so we knew what to expect. However, the hotel in Louisville had its problems as well, so we were cautiously optimistic.

Valet and check-in couldn't have been any easier. Everyone that greeted us had a smile on their face and were happy to do whatever they could to help. They put us in room 816. The room itself was very clean, modern, and actually very nice. It was on the small side, but we didn't care about that. The biggest complaint about the 21c in Louisville was how thin the walls are, so that was our first main item of concentration. I have to say that either there weren't any other people around us or the the walls at this 21c are sound proof. We heard no other noises the entire night of our stay. The bathroom was clean and has a very powerful shower head.

The only issue I raised was that I did not like the motion activated thermostat. That's great that they're trying to save the Earth, but I like A/C, and do NOT want it to turn off while I'm sleeping (read - not making enough movements to keep it on). I brought this up with the front desk staff after we got back from the game. They couldn't have been more helpful. They said they would have maintenance turn that feature off, right away. The called to check on the issue and I told them maintenance had not been up yet, and they said they would take care of it. Five minutes later they call and said maintenance was able to turn it off from their computer and had actually lowered the limit for the A/C to 64. Fantastic!!

Also, the room darkening shades worked so well that we didn't wake up til 9:45am. We had no idea what time it was, and were shocked that there weren't any noises that woke us up either. Which brings me to the clock that is in the room. I understand the whole artsy point of the hotel, but using an analog clock as the alarm clock, is a BAD idea. If we had had a generic digital red digit clock on the nightstand, we wouldn't have slept through breakfast. I'm not really complaining about that, as we wanted to sleep, but I can see where that may be a bad thing if you have meetings or appointments to keep.

Overall, this hotel is outstanding in every way. We will definitely be staying here again for our next trip to Cincinnati.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    162
    43
    3
    6
    1
See reviews for
28
100
8
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midwest US
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Stayed at the 21 C and two other downtown hotels recently as Total Rewards members. The rooms and valet parking at all three were all comped by the Horseshoe Casino and all three of the rooms: the 21C, the Cincinnatian and the Hilton Netherlands were standard rooms.

The three hotels have comparable amenities, but the Cincinnatian is currently our favorite- mostly due to the tiny standard rooms at the 21C and Hilton that are so small that two people cannot pass each other in the room or bath without the other having to move aside. The room size aside the rooms at all three hotels were nicely furnished with 32" LCD TV,s, clocks, etc.

The bathrooms in the 21C and Hilton were as tiny as the rooms but had all the expected amenities. The bath in the CH though was spacious with a vanity area with a large closet and safe and a large shower and toilet area with a large walk-in shower with two shower heads. While the bath was small at the 21C the shower was nice and as other reviewers have mentioned the attraction in the 21C bath are the unique artsy tiles.

One area where the 21C and Hilton rank ahead of the Cincinnatian is the lack of a coffee maker in the CH. The 21C and Hilton offered tea selections also.

Our room in the 21C faced another building and had no view so it is hard to rate that particular item. Had trouble with the free wireless at the 21C but that might be our old laptop. The CH had free wi-fi while the Hilton had free WiFi in the lobby only.

All three hotels had excellent fitness rooms although the fitness room at the 21C was our favorite. The 21C had machines with wi-fi, internet, music, etc. and provided complementary water, towels and earbuds. The Hilton fitness room is associated with the Carew Tower and had tons of machines and free weights and was complimentary to Hilton guests.

The lobby of the 21C is European, artsy and eclectic, but is small and if you are a fan of hotel lobbies you will not be comfortable there. The lobbies in the Hilton and CH were more traditional.

All the hotels are close to Fountain Square, local and national restaurants; Rock Bottom, Panera, etc. and for the healthy a nice walk to the ballparks, museums, and the casino.

There is a Walgreens and CVS across the street from each other and only a block or so from all three hotels and they sell cold beer. The hotels will put a refrigerator in your room for no charge if you request one when you make your reservation. Be prepared- unlike the Hilton and the CH, the 21C has no ice maker. You have to ring the desk for ice.

If you are going to the Horseshoe casino be advised the food choices are plenty but get old after a few visits. Also wear or at least take a jacket or sweater to the casino because it is cold enough to keep meat fresh. The shuttle to and from the casinos is hit or miss. The current arrangement is before 4pm it only runs every hour and stops at all 12 associated hotels which explains why it takes an hour. It is actually faster to walk or consider leaving the valet at your hotel and just drive.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster,PA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I’m not one to gush, but with this place I have to - it excels on so many levels. I am far from a hipster (in response to other reviews) having passed age 55. The vibe may be modern, yet this gem exudes a good old-fashioned “Welcome”. First of all the customer service is excellent, like you always wish it would be. It started with Ryan the valet, who went beyond courteous. At our request he suggested some items to try at the restaurant (more on this later) and also gave us recommendations for excellent places to dine when we asked him what else was in the neighborhood. He also gave us an overview of the not-to-miss art in the hotel, including Yinka Shonibare’s work. When’s the last time a valet discussed an artist who has exhibited in museums world-wide with you?! Perfect first encounter with 21 C.
Inside the doors the vibe is eclectic, open, and friendly. Every person greeted us with a smile and was open to interaction. It’s like visiting a museum in someone’s home – so welcoming and inviting, so much art to see - and don’t miss the groovy liquid floor!
Any foodie out there will melt at the food and drink selections at the bar. We went with the Cinci-brewed beers and were not disappointed (although there were so many other tempting and unique concoctions!) The bartender was extremely knowledgeable and helped us create a masterful pairing; it was taste bud nirvana. The charcuterie is to die for, and make sure you get the fire-roasted radish shoots if they’re in season. The blend of service and delivery was simply excellent.
All of these good vibes, and - we were not overnight guests. We just went in to check it out, and were actually welcome! No sideways glances, not a trace of the ‘are you a guest here’ that I’ve been subjected to at other places. I can’t wait to get back to the Queen City so I can stay at 21 C – wish I had known about it before I planned my trip. Go, stay, eat – you’ll LOVE it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, WV
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Great Hotel, excellent location and really good service. Very new and modern. The Artistic statements were interesting. The room was comfortable and the beds were very nice. The Hotel is geared to the younger hipster and smart-phone crowd... nothing wrong with that but not our cup of tea. My only complaint was the Hotel Bar. Craft Beers and Wines but if you want a basic domestic brand other than Miller Lite, you are out of luck.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis, Mo
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I didn't know what to expect with this hotel, but it was a nice place to stay. No bathtub (who Cares) Very comfortable room. Nice, helpful staff. I would stay there again. It is decorated in modern art, which is much better than just stock paintings/photos handing in the room. lots of little extras that make it stand out from your standard hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

There is literally nothing bad to say about this hotel. It is in a great location across from the Aronoff Center, and a block from Fountain Square. 10 minute walk to ball park and Banks area. We felt very safe around the hotel, and doormen are great. They are always out front for you needs...as a matter of fact, all staff members were outstanding. Room was a little larger than the standard, I think, but the regular rooms are large, especially for an urban setting. Coffee in room and downstairs early in the morning if you need that. Bathrooms extra large, and great amenitites.
If you are looking to stay in downtown, I cannot imagine doing better than this. We have stayed in 3 other downtown hotels, but this is clearly the best, and the others were not slouches. The art in the hotel is interesting, too, and there is the restaurant on site. We did not eat there, but a FIrst Watch is right around the block which serves outstanding breakfast and lunch if you want to get off site. Hotel is right next to a neat gastropub, too. You may pay more here, but it is a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Great downtown location - near restaurants, museums,etc. Nicely renovated property. But the most outstanding part is the absolutely outstanding service from everyone there. Everyone working there went above and beyond to provide a first class service experience. Will most certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 21c Museum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 21c Museum Hotel

Also Known As:
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati, Ohio
Address: 609 Walnut St, Cincinnati, OH 45202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cincinnati
#1 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
#7 Family Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 21c Museum Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located adjacent to the Lois and Richard Rosenthal Center for Contemporary Art and across the street from the Aronoff Center for the Arts, 21c Cincinnati works to foster the ongoing revival of Downtown Cincinnati and strengthen its role as a cultural destination.Working with the Cincinnati Center City Development Corporation (3CDC), 21c renovated the former Metropole Hotel and embraced the architecture of the historic landmark to create an exciting new space for guests to experience genuine hospitality, view cutting edge contemporary art, and enjoy culinary experiences that celebrates the region's sustainable producers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Venere and Agoda so you can book your 21c Museum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 21c Museum Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.