We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, a little too Modern and Artsy for us.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 21c Museum Hotel

Save Saved
You added 21c Museum Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
21c Museum Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   609 Walnut St, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 48 hotels in Cincinnati
Charleston, WV
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, a little too Modern and Artsy for us.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Great Hotel, excellent location and really good service. Very new and modern. The Artistic statements were interesting. The room was comfortable and the beds were very nice. The Hotel is geared to the younger hipster and smart-phone crowd... nothing wrong with that but not our cup of tea. My only complaint was the Hotel Bar. Craft Beers and Wines but if you want a basic domestic brand other than Miller Lite, you are out of luck.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    221
    54
    9
    6
    1
See reviews for
40
125
10
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Louis, Mo
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I didn't know what to expect with this hotel, but it was a nice place to stay. No bathtub (who Cares) Very comfortable room. Nice, helpful staff. I would stay there again. It is decorated in modern art, which is much better than just stock paintings/photos handing in the room. lots of little extras that make it stand out from your standard hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

There is literally nothing bad to say about this hotel. It is in a great location across from the Aronoff Center, and a block from Fountain Square. 10 minute walk to ball park and Banks area. We felt very safe around the hotel, and doormen are great. They are always out front for you needs...as a matter of fact, all staff members were outstanding. Room was a little larger than the standard, I think, but the regular rooms are large, especially for an urban setting. Coffee in room and downstairs early in the morning if you need that. Bathrooms extra large, and great amenitites.
If you are looking to stay in downtown, I cannot imagine doing better than this. We have stayed in 3 other downtown hotels, but this is clearly the best, and the others were not slouches. The art in the hotel is interesting, too, and there is the restaurant on site. We did not eat there, but a FIrst Watch is right around the block which serves outstanding breakfast and lunch if you want to get off site. Hotel is right next to a neat gastropub, too. You may pay more here, but it is a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Great downtown location - near restaurants, museums,etc. Nicely renovated property. But the most outstanding part is the absolutely outstanding service from everyone there. Everyone working there went above and beyond to provide a first class service experience. Will most certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owensboro, KY
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

My wife and I got away for 3 nights to Cincy this past weekend. We stayed at the 21c for the first time. A+ experience all the way around. The valets were courteous and fast each time we used them. Check in was fast and easy. The room was fabulous! I have never slept as well in a hotel bed. The king sized bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. And then the huge flat screen LG tv was the bomb too. The shower in the bathroom was my favorite part of the room. It had a glass door with granite tiled floor and water pressure to the max. We will definitely stay here again and again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We arrived and our room was ready. The people at the front desk do checkin/concierge/etc They were all friendly and helpful. The people working at the hotel are not the traditional dress/appearance. The average age is younger...30s? But, all were friendly and did not care if we had a question. They were able to secure restaurant reservations at two great restaurants for large groups easly (on a Friday and Saturday night). John was my favorite, though they were all fabulous.

The corner suite was perfect. We were on the tenth floor. It was cool and quiet. I am not a big fan of modern decor, but this place was it for four days....and we loved it.

The bed was sooo comfortable. The room service menu was limited. But the burger was cooked just right and I loved the salad. The plate of cookies? I wanted more of them

I took my daughter to the spa for a pedicure. The place smelled just a little of oranges? It was nice. The two ladies that gave the pedicures were the best. I did not think it was ridiculously pricey, either.

The bellman and valet were there. I mean, I never waited. I called and the car was there. They asked about directions, water, etc. These people MUST LOVE their job. Everyone of them...or they can really act.

They made me feel at home, but like I was specail, too.

I WILL be back.

Room Tip: corner suite was wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We popped into Cincinnati for a getaway weekend. Moved away eight years ago, and wanted to plug into what we've heard is a renaissance of downtown and Over-The-Rhine. The 21c is in the pole position! Right next door to the Contemporary Art Center (circa Mapplethorpe in the 1980s), and directly across from the hippest restaurants in town: Nada, Sotto and Boca, all led by David Falk and situated on culinary sacred ground, the former site of the Maisonette, one of the most famous five-stars ever.

21c is fresh, fun, and full-service. We were greeted by open, gallery space with compelling modern art. Our room was modern, yet cozy with a comfy king. The black and white bathroom provides some fun surprises! We enjoyed the hotel bar, nicely stocked with tasty draught beers, a complete selection of whiskey options, and smoked blueberry mojitos. Metropole, the hotel's restaurant, was a great choice for dinner our second night. Easy, delicious.

Valet parking is efficient. Bell staff and front desk are pleasant and attentive, especially in holding doors open (which are extremely heavy!). Room service delivered our omelets in perfect shape for our breakfast-in-bed.

Don't miss an opportunity to check out the second floor gallery. And, for the adventurous, a walk north into OTR is a peek into urban renewal, 21century-style!

Room Tip: Rooms facing east have a nice view of downtown and Mt. Adams. Thankfully, the black-out blinds curb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 21c Museum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 21c Museum Hotel

Address: 609 Walnut St, Cincinnati, OH 45202
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cincinnati
#2 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
#7 Family Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 21c Museum Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located adjacent to the Lois and Richard Rosenthal Center for Contemporary Art and across the street from the Aronoff Center for the Arts, 21c Cincinnati works to foster the ongoing revival of Downtown Cincinnati and strengthen its role as a cultural destination.Working with the Cincinnati Center City Development Corporation (3CDC), 21c renovated the former Metropole Hotel and embraced the architecture of the historic landmark to create an exciting new space for guests to experience genuine hospitality, view cutting edge contemporary art, and enjoy culinary experiences that celebrates the region's sustainable producers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your 21c Museum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 21c Museum Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.