We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 21c Museum Hotel

Save Saved
You added 21c Museum Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
21c Museum Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   609 Walnut St, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Complimentary Upgrade
Ranked #2 of 49 hotels in Cincinnati
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My husband and I took a weekend trip to Cincinnati over Memorial Day weekend. I found a somewhat new hotel downtown and decided to give it a try. A boutique hotel that has a bit of art in every corner. Starting with check in, the staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The "counter" was actually a glass table with 10,000 small plastic figures holding it up. It reminded me of the genius bar at Apple with just three laptops. All staff that we encountered had a smile and were quick to help. The room was a pleasure with a comfy bed and fine linens. All of the extra touches were welcome and noticed. Comfy robes, nespresso maker, fluffy towels and bath rug, and even a rubber ducky in the shower. The tiles in the bathroom had protuding lips, eyebrows and ears. Every detail had an artistic flair. The roof top bar was also a lovely place to sit on a nice day. There is also a spa within the building that we did not have time to visit. I will on my next trip! We would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    196
    51
    8
    6
    1
See reviews for
36
114
10
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nantucket, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I visited the original 21c in Louisville right after it opened a few years ago. I was very impressed with the hotel, especially the attention to detail and the way they integrated art into the soul of the hotel. The rooms were comfortable and the restaurant was superb. I was a little hesitant to visit their second hotel in the chain in Cincinnati - could they improve on their concept. And the answer is.............YES!

The 21c in Cincinnati is very located in the heart of the city, walking distance to attrractions and best restaurants. It's hip and cool without being overly so - anyone feels comfortable there. the restaurant is loud but the food makes up for the volume.

Cincinnati has been lacking a truly good hotel for years - it's finally arrived!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, WV
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was the first time that I have stayed at this hotel. There was an issue with my reservation because of the way I booked it through a travel site, but the hotel was very understanding and took care of my issue. I didn't check in until later in the evening and left in the morning, so I didn't check out the whole hotel, but my room was nice and very clean and the service was really good. I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed here over Memorial Day weekend. I would give this hotel 5 stars for the vibe and the chic factor. But I give it 4 since it made me feel like I wasn't a well traveled person (mind you I travel 3-4days out of the week!).

We walked in and didn't know where to check in...it was that cool. It felt like an Apple store with everyone looking at computers. The room was lovely. Nice linen etc. Decor was ultra modern and again very cool. Location was great. Walking distance to everything.
I wouldn't personally bring my 2 boys (5&3) here since it was that chic...I would be stressed the whole time that they were touching something they shouldn't. So for solo/romantic couples/business it's great and I would recommend it to those folks.

Oh and despite how busy the street was below...it was SUPER quiet!

Room Tip: We were facing the interior space (not a good view) so I am not sure if that helped with noise level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Love the art and contemporary feel! Great boutique hotel!
Hotel is located in the city center - very close to the stadium.
Valet parking is a bonus - located on a busy street.
Staff are very helpful and gracious!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Heights, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

My husband and I live in the Cincinnati area. For a date night we stayed at the 21c, went to dinner and the casino. The hotel was excellent. We had a late check-in with fast and courteous service. The room was very clean with a sofa,table, chair and ottoman, tv and king size bed. The bathroom was spacious and clean as well. Upon entering and exiting the lobby we were greeted with smiles and enthusiasm. We used the free shuttle back and forth from the casino which was very nice. We ordered room service in the morning. The room service rep who took the order said it would be about 30 mins but the food arrived in about 15! The food was hot and delicious. We didn't use the mini-bar in the room but it had a great variety of beverages to choose from. Check-out was fast and easy and the hotel staff took extra time to ensure that all of our charges were correct. A great experience and I would love to stay there again if we have another night on the town. For those not from Cincy the location is excellent. Right in the middle of downtown, across the street from Aronoff, close to the Square and really close to everything else.

The only bad part of my review is that the rooftop bar had a 20 minute wait to get into. I haven't ever waited 20 mins to get into a bar and I am not about to start now. It did just open earlier that week and it was 10PM on a Friday night, but it still would have been nice to check it out.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Such a treat to get to stay here on a recent business trip. Refreshingly young, hip and artsy --- which I am not, but I love and appreciate being around.

Walking into reception is a little like walking up to the Apple Genius Bar, only with art and top-notch service. The room (King Deluxe) was immaculately clean, well-appointed and had an awesomely comfortable bed.... I slept well two nights in a row. I'm not a fan of Nespresso for in-room coffee, but quick room service with outstanding, fresh food (and coffee!) made up for that.

Unlike most trips I also had the opportunity to visit the spa and the hotel restaurant, both of which could stand on their own vs. the best spas and restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 21c Museum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 21c Museum Hotel

Address: 609 Walnut St, Cincinnati, OH 45202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cincinnati
#2 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
#7 Family Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 21c Museum Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located adjacent to the Lois and Richard Rosenthal Center for Contemporary Art and across the street from the Aronoff Center for the Arts, 21c Cincinnati works to foster the ongoing revival of Downtown Cincinnati and strengthen its role as a cultural destination.Working with the Cincinnati Center City Development Corporation (3CDC), 21c renovated the former Metropole Hotel and embraced the architecture of the historic landmark to create an exciting new space for guests to experience genuine hospitality, view cutting edge contemporary art, and enjoy culinary experiences that celebrates the region's sustainable producers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Priceline and Venere so you can book your 21c Museum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 21c Museum Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.