We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing property but a bit too techy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 21c Museum Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added 21c Museum Hotel to your Saves list
21c Museum Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   609 Walnut St, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Complimentary Upgrade
Ranked #2 of 48 Hotels in Cincinnati
Cleveland, OH
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Amazing property but a bit too techy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed here over Memorial Day weekend. I would give this hotel 5 stars for the vibe and the chic factor. But I give it 4 since it made me feel like I wasn't a well traveled person (mind you I travel 3-4days out of the week!).

We walked in and didn't know where to check in...it was that cool. It felt like an Apple store with everyone looking at computers. The room was lovely. Nice linen etc. Decor was ultra modern and again very cool. Location was great. Walking distance to everything.
I wouldn't personally bring my 2 boys (5&3) here since it was that chic...I would be stressed the whole time that they were touching something they shouldn't. So for solo/romantic couples/business it's great and I would recommend it to those folks.

Oh and despite how busy the street was below...it was SUPER quiet!

Room Tip: We were facing the interior space (not a good view) so I am not sure if that helped with noise level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    66
    10
    7
    3
See reviews for
47
185
11
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Love the art and contemporary feel! Great boutique hotel!
Hotel is located in the city center - very close to the stadium.
Valet parking is a bonus - located on a busy street.
Staff are very helpful and gracious!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cold Spring, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

My husband and I live in the Cincinnati area. For a date night we stayed at the 21c, went to dinner and the casino. The hotel was excellent. We had a late check-in with fast and courteous service. The room was very clean with a sofa,table, chair and ottoman, tv and king size bed. The bathroom was spacious and clean as well. Upon entering and exiting the lobby we were greeted with smiles and enthusiasm. We used the free shuttle back and forth from the casino which was very nice. We ordered room service in the morning. The room service rep who took the order said it would be about 30 mins but the food arrived in about 15! The food was hot and delicious. We didn't use the mini-bar in the room but it had a great variety of beverages to choose from. Check-out was fast and easy and the hotel staff took extra time to ensure that all of our charges were correct. A great experience and I would love to stay there again if we have another night on the town. For those not from Cincy the location is excellent. Right in the middle of downtown, across the street from Aronoff, close to the Square and really close to everything else.

The only bad part of my review is that the rooftop bar had a 20 minute wait to get into. I haven't ever waited 20 mins to get into a bar and I am not about to start now. It did just open earlier that week and it was 10PM on a Friday night, but it still would have been nice to check it out.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Such a treat to get to stay here on a recent business trip. Refreshingly young, hip and artsy --- which I am not, but I love and appreciate being around.

Walking into reception is a little like walking up to the Apple Genius Bar, only with art and top-notch service. The room (King Deluxe) was immaculately clean, well-appointed and had an awesomely comfortable bed.... I slept well two nights in a row. I'm not a fan of Nespresso for in-room coffee, but quick room service with outstanding, fresh food (and coffee!) made up for that.

Unlike most trips I also had the opportunity to visit the spa and the hotel restaurant, both of which could stand on their own vs. the best spas and restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelbyville, Indiana, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We have stayed twice the first time in a room with a queen bed an a sofa bed. Everything was great. Lots of room and the bed was great. We could sleep and get up feeling like we had. The bathroom had a tub and shower. My husband like the number of tv options. everyone was very nice.
The second time was in a king bed. Room was small but nice. Bathroom just had a shower but it was a nice walk in one. The bed was great again. No back aches or getting up because of not getting the right place to sleep. The coffee maker was nice. We made coffee before we left for the evening and when we came back they had turn down and covers on the bed and left more coffee.
The view was not great but the location was nice. The art was something different. We like it and will stay again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Visiting for the Xavier commencement from out of town, my wife and I wanted to stay downtown to enjoy the restaurants and events around the hotel. It seemed that in order to stay in the area, one had to evaluate what was included in your stay and how much of a charge you were willing to accept for features. Common fees were assessed for parking, wifi, and room upgrades. It turns out that for what you pay, 21C offered the larger HDTV with premium channels, bath amenities unlike any other hotel in the area, complimentary in-room coffee and water and free speedy wireless internet. Best of all, the art is amazing. It is a rather interesting touch to incorporate what would normally be boring walls and elevator with refreshing artistic pieces.
The design of the room was welcoming, not overly lit, and maintained a comfortable temperature. Our room had a comfortable sized queen bed with down comforter and high quality linens. as well as a bathroom which is large, clean and a shower head that leaves one relaxed and refreshed. The floor is even textured and is not outside of a comfortable range for enhanced barefoot walking. Last, the room can be made quite dark due built-in shutters and extra thick curtains.
Finally, we did not get a chance to try the spa or try the restaurant, but we did use the gym which had state of the art ellipticals and cycles. A broad range of free weights and it also had nice touches like water, fresh towels, and cleaning wipes.
We will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

Excellent stylish Mid-Century Modern design boutique hotel in the heart of everything! Loved the design and loved the service. Service was very "Disneyesque": everyone we encountered seemed genuinely happy to see us and to assist us. Pricey, but definitely worth it. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 21c Museum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 21c Museum Hotel

Address: 609 Walnut St, Cincinnati, OH 45202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cincinnati
#2 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
#6 Family Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 21c Museum Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located adjacent to the Lois and Richard Rosenthal Center for Contemporary Art and across the street from the Aronoff Center for the Arts, 21c Cincinnati works to foster the ongoing revival of Downtown Cincinnati and strengthen its role as a cultural destination.Working with the Cincinnati Center City Development Corporation (3CDC), 21c renovated the former Metropole Hotel and embraced the architecture of the historic landmark to create an exciting new space for guests to experience genuine hospitality, view cutting edge contemporary art, and enjoy culinary experiences that celebrates the region's sustainable producers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your 21c Museum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 21c Museum Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.