We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adventure gone South” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 21c Museum Hotel

Save Saved
You added 21c Museum Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
21c Museum Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   609 Walnut St, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Complimentary Upgrade
Ranked #2 of 47 hotels in Cincinnati
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Adventure gone South”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Trying something new is a good thing, so, we booked 21C on Hotwire (thinking it was one of either the Cincinnatian or the Netherland Plaza- both of which belong to the Historic Hotels of America.) Our surprise came when we discovered we booked this modern art museum hotel. It is, well, different. The minimalist look is not our cup of tea. Concrete floors and austere walls don't do much for us. The people were very friendly and the little touches told us we were in a very nice place, but... The portrait of a smirking camel over our bed made us laugh and creep out at the same time. The white subway tiles in the bathroom were puncuated with white ceramic body parts including a nose, an ear, a belly button, and a woman's breast. I guess I just don't get modern art. The art museum in the bottom 2 floors did have some interesting items, though. Be sure to check out the light show coming out of the ceiling. It was fun to play in. But we can do without the graphically nude life-sized statues of men, women and children. I tried reading the artist's explanation but couldn't make sense out of it. Yes, we are sixty year old fogeys who like grand staircases, chandeliers and classic architecture. Is 21C avant-garde? Yes. Is 21C for us? No.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    162
    43
    3
    6
    1
See reviews for
28
100
8
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I loved staying in the 21C. It is in a great central location making it easy to get around the city. I was staying there with my two kids and the double queen room was more than enough space. The only draw back is that the walls seem a bit thin. I could clearly hear my neighbors talking and the street noise made it hard to fall asleep. Besides that, I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Visited 21C for a romantic kid-free weekend. First, the reservation staff were very flexible and proactive with my reservation request. Upon arrival, the valet staff were very friendly in helping us get out of the car and out of the rain. Didn't seem like they were fishing for tips like so many bellmen/valets are.

Front desk staff were very attentive and made the check-in very easy. Gave us a free upgrade too! Awesome! Throughout our stay they were very observant and helpful, basically the best service I have ever received at a hotel.

We also visited the spa, which was equally enjoyable. Probably the best massage I've ever had. Very relaxing, friendly, warm environment.

Of course the artwork was very interesting and it was a lot of fun to just wander around the hotel, checking out different floors' exhibits. Such a unique property and idea for a hotel.

We will definitely be back to 21C. I would not say it's a good place for kids really, but it is fantastic for a romantic getaway or a business trip even. It is a little on the pricey side, but Ithe top-knotch service and attention actually made it a value for me.

Room Tip: Rooms along Walnut next to Nicholson's had a good amount of bar and street noise later at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Cool, trendy and unique hotel/museum. It is a top tier boutique hotel that happens to have an art museum on the 1st & 2nd floors and an outstanding restaurant. Staff is very friendly. There is not a traditional registration desk. In fact, the check-in "desk" is a piece of artwork. Everything is done from a laptop computer, including coding the room keys. The registrar even walks you to the elevator. They hotel is very modern and clean. It just opened in the fall of 2012. The rooms are spacious, clean and user friendly. We were greeted by a rubber duck in the shower. In fact, we were greeted at dinner, in the hallway and on the elevator by an occasional yellow penguin (part of the Cracking Art Group exhibit). The hotel restaurant, Meteropole, is a must. The location is great. Head one block south and you are at Fountain Square, the hub of the city. You are also within walking distance of the brand new Horseshoe Casino, Great American Ball Park, the Paul Brown Stadium.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

My weekend stay was made very enjoyable by the fun details in the decor and the excellent service provided by the front desk staff. Upon arrival I requested ice for a bottle of champagne. The staff delivered it ultra promptly as I was entering my room. The yellow penguins are a charming little motif that you will see here and there. They are even used on the lapel pins that identify hotel staff. Take a closer look at the tiles in your bathroom and you will notice something unusual...a bas relief belly button, nose, lips, and other body parts are subtly interspersed with the regular flat tiles. The rooms are decorated in a mid century modern style without being cold or clinical. Don't leave without checking out the museum on the first and second floors. I think I have a new favorite place to stay when I'm in Cincinnati.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the street side offer good natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This former apartment building is now a nice hotel. right next to it is Nicholson's Tavern (scottish food) and across the street is the Arnoff Center for the Arts (Sister Act and such). Lovely place to stay, from what i hear.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed with my husband at the hotel April 26 to 28th. Check-in was very easy. Front desk area is minimalistic. I love it, however some guests may walk right by not realizing it. The hotel is ultra modern with various museum pieces on the first and 2nd floor. Wifi card key secures only hotel guests can access the floor of the room registered in. We stayed in a Deluxe King room, which is the basic of all room types, but was anything but basic. Everything about the room was outstanding. The bed and pillows were deliciously comfortable. Simply a gorgeous modern appointed room. The bathroom decor was modern and fun with whimsical tile. Lovely Malin+Goetz travel size toiletries were very welcoming.

The staff was welcoming and professional. Breakfast at the hotel restaurant Metropole was delicious. Conveniently located across from the Aronoff Center. Walkable everywhere within the downtown corridor. The only downside to our stay was our room was located on north side of the 5th floor next to Nicholson's Pub. The pub was quite loud and could be heard until closing at 2:00 am.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 21c Museum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 21c Museum Hotel

Also Known As:
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati, Ohio
Address: 609 Walnut St, Cincinnati, OH 45202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cincinnati
#7 Family Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 21c Museum Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located adjacent to the Lois and Richard Rosenthal Center for Contemporary Art and across the street from the Aronoff Center for the Arts, 21c Cincinnati works to foster the ongoing revival of Downtown Cincinnati and strengthen its role as a cultural destination.Working with the Cincinnati Center City Development Corporation (3CDC), 21c renovated the former Metropole Hotel and embraced the architecture of the historic landmark to create an exciting new space for guests to experience genuine hospitality, view cutting edge contemporary art, and enjoy culinary experiences that celebrates the region's sustainable producers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Venere and Agoda so you can book your 21c Museum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 21c Museum Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.