We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“finally a decent hotel in Cinci...on top with a touch of art” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 21c Museum Hotel

Save Saved
You added 21c Museum Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
21c Museum Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   609 Walnut St, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Complimentary Upgrade
Ranked #2 of 49 hotels in Cincinnati
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“finally a decent hotel in Cinci...on top with a touch of art”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

finally a hotel which is modern, clean and designed with some taste. loved the spacey room and the nice touch of art both at the reception and in the room...tough I expected more. they have a nice fitness and a restaurant next door. really worth trying!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    193
    49
    8
    6
    1
See reviews for
36
114
8
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brookville, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on a business outing, it was brand new, I think we were the first to stay in our room. The decor was amazing, everything was comfortable, the guest services were quick and helpful. We loved it so much, we took our children back to stay during a Christmas event going on downtown Cincinnati. A wonderful place, close to everything, clean, beautiful, and friendly. I would highly recommend for anyone needing to stay downtown. Upgrade to a deluxe suite if you can!

Room Tip: If you can, upgrade to deluxe suite, worth the money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEST BLOOMFIELD
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Lovely, newly renovated hotel with contemporary art motif. Cool, unexpected touches EVERYWHERE, form the check-in desk, to the rooms. Lobby has great exhibits, so do the hallways. Permanent photo exhibits are just lovely and lend a great "feel" to the property. A witty addition are the numerous 4 foot yellow penguin mascots that are everywhere! You may find one standing at your table at the Metropole restaurant ( fantastic for dinner or brunch), or you might find one outside your door in the morning. Or on the elevator. Rooms are luxurious, clean, minimalist, with humorous touches in the bathroom. I won't spoil it for you, so you'll have to see for yourself. Great location, easy walk to the riverfront. Lots of pubs, restaurants,shopping within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Indiana
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We read the other reviews for this location prior to going, and I must say, that they are right. The location is excellent and the art/sculpturing is fantastic. Let's talk about the good stuff first:
It is somewhat family friendly.. Depending on your stance on art... There are naked sculptures of various 'younger' individuals which might be hard to explain to a 4 - 8 year old located in the lobby. Nothing grotesque, just the human form. I had no problem with it for my son.

-The employees are *EXTREMELY* friendly. It is a different kind of check in. No offical "front desk" as most hotels employ, this is just an art exhibit table with 6400 hands holding it up. (When you check in, you will know what I mean ;))
-We had the same man help with our luggage from the car, waited through the check in process, and followed us to the room. That was excellent!
-It's kind of silly, but we LOVED the penguins. They are giant (4') yellow and they seemingly travel throughout the hotel and end up in different locations constantly. (We helped too! We moved one off the elevator and left it on the 5th floor.) It was fun!
-The Room:
- Kind of small, that was workable, just a note
- VERY clean and smelled AWESOME
- Bathroom had its own "art" in the wall, a bellybutton, lips, a breast, an ear, and a nose were pushed out of various tiles. Neat!
- Robes that were furnished were VERY nice as well.
- The bed??? OMG! HONESTLY THE BEST NIGHTS SLEEP I HAVE HAD IN YEARS! TALK about comfort?! Ahhhhhhhhhh is all I can say.

- Onto the very, very few negatives in my personal opinion.

It is nice to have someone available for your needs, but I am a frugal individual who would rather go get my own ice, and not have to tip someone. Pretty much everything you need or want involves a tip of some sort. I am OK with that to a point, but, it was a little much.

I read in another review that the electric grass was good. I was expecting a little more. To me, the various artworks on various floors trumped that. I would take a pass on that if it came around again.

So, that's it! It really is a very good location, but if traveling "frugally", this might be a bit extravagant.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

i wanted to stay here cause it was a good location for us to take a break after a long drive. we had stayed at a 21c in louisville and i loved it. this place is just as great. the check in was nice and the lobby desk is the coolest ever. i like these hotels cause of all the art they have to look at. the room was very well done and we did get an upgrade as well. very roomy and the bed was so nice. if ever in cincy again i would stay here in a heartbeat. thanks for the good time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta, NY
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I love this beautiful brand new hotel in an art gallery setting next to a nice gastropub and around the corner to other brewpubs, coffee shops and fine dining. The workout room is decent and in-house restaurant is very good. I saved a little money parking my own car in public parking garage at Fountain Square and explored the surroundings on the way to hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Loved our weekend stay at 21c Hotel. The combination art gallery hotel works. They also have a wonderful restaurant called the Metropole where we dined one evening and had brunch. Overall, everything you need for a comfortable stay. Rooms were meticulously clean and spacious. Super-comfortable bed and luxurious linens. Our only complaint was the soundproofing. We heard ambient sound from a nearby disco. We called the front desk and they moved us to quieter quarters. Problem solved. We were impressed with how seamlessly this was carried out. Before our visit we also received a letter asking us if we had any particular needs. They also called upon minutes of our getting into our room to see if there was anything we needed. Fantastic service and art! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the quiet section of the floor along the interior courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 21c Museum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 21c Museum Hotel

Address: 609 Walnut St, Cincinnati, OH 45202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cincinnati
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
#2 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
#6 Family Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 21c Museum Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located adjacent to the Lois and Richard Rosenthal Center for Contemporary Art and across the street from the Aronoff Center for the Arts, 21c Cincinnati works to foster the ongoing revival of Downtown Cincinnati and strengthen its role as a cultural destination.Working with the Cincinnati Center City Development Corporation (3CDC), 21c renovated the former Metropole Hotel and embraced the architecture of the historic landmark to create an exciting new space for guests to experience genuine hospitality, view cutting edge contemporary art, and enjoy culinary experiences that celebrates the region's sustainable producers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your 21c Museum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 21c Museum Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.