We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of potential, but way too noisy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of 21c Museum Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added 21c Museum Hotel to your Saves list
21c Museum Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   609 Walnut St, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Complimentary Upgrade
Ranked #2 of 48 Hotels in Cincinnati
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lots of potential, but way too noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The 21C is an up-and-coming modern boutique hotel which is high on style but low on know-how. The furnishings are top notch - modern furniture, Rookwood Potter accents, and museum pieces throughout the hotel. The staff is uber-friendly yet in need of hospitality training. For example, after three inquiries we were notified that our mini-fridge had been delivered to the room next door. A prompt response would have been much appreciated. Most disappointing was the noise from two nearby nightclubs - The Righteous Room and Scene. Music pumped until 2am. Upon checking out the next morning we were informed that a noise ordinance was supposed to be in effect after 11pm, yet none of the hotel management seemed to have taken any action to ensure its enforcement. Several members of our group were inconvenienced and vowed never to stay there again. I'd love to see some of the customer service issues rectified as this is a truly unique hotel with much to offer Cincinnati.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    64
    10
    7
    3
See reviews for
47
183
11
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

As a corporate travel agent with AAA, I was lucky to receive an extensive tour of this new property. The entire hotel is AMAZING! The modern sense of style, beautiful art and unexpected elegance is a breath of fresh air to Downtown Cincinnati. Located directly across from the Arnoff Performaning Arts Center and next door the the Cincinnati Contemporary Arts Center, this property is within most everything downtown. Lots of close-by eating options, from fine dining to pub food, there is something for everyone. 21c is truly one of the best hotels in Cincinnati!

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

The new 21c Museum Hotel is unbelievably fun and friendly and the art is both surprising and beautiful. My husband and I stayed there the first weekend that it was open because we enjoyed their hotel in Louisville. They really delight with unexpected art and little quirks to keep you surprised. The room was big and very nicely furnished in a clean, modern style. The bathroom was big and even there were a few hidden surprises. We ate at the Metropole and the food was very good. The bar area was very lively, making the dining area fun, if a bit noisy.

We found the staff, obviously new, to be extremely friendly and very eager to ensure we were happy. The hotel's location allowed us to walk everywhere downtown...we never used our car.

We will surely go back again because we had such a fun time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is nice. The new and clean attraction is appealing. The art is interesting. The front desk check-in took at least 30 minutes. Is that a new world record? They were embarrassed but did not offer a free drink or any perk. The room was quite nice but the view overlooks a sea if air conditioners and is not appealing. We left the curtains closed. The restaurant was excellent at breakfast. That was s 10. The rooms were a 7 based on size and a 2 based on the view. Would we stay again? Yes. We just hope they train the front desk staff.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 21c Museum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 21c Museum Hotel

Address: 609 Walnut St, Cincinnati, OH 45202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
#1 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cincinnati
#6 Family Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 21c Museum Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located adjacent to the Lois and Richard Rosenthal Center for Contemporary Art and across the street from the Aronoff Center for the Arts, 21c Cincinnati works to foster the ongoing revival of Downtown Cincinnati and strengthen its role as a cultural destination.Working with the Cincinnati Center City Development Corporation (3CDC), 21c renovated the former Metropole Hotel and embraced the architecture of the historic landmark to create an exciting new space for guests to experience genuine hospitality, view cutting edge contemporary art, and enjoy culinary experiences that celebrates the region's sustainable producers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your 21c Museum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 21c Museum Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.