We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Rare Treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nicola's Ristorante

Nicola's Ristorante
1420 Sycamore St, Ste 3, Cincinnati, OH 45202
+1 513-721-6200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Nicola's Ristorante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 1,659 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Liberty Street
Description: Nicola's is located on the corner of East Liberty and Sycamore Street
Cleveland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Rare Treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Last night, we ate at Nicola's for the first time but it won't be the last. We normally do not eat Italian out of town because Cleveland has outstanding Italian restaurants but we'll be making an exception for this one.

The rustic ambiance is charming and although Nicola's is white tablecloth and attentive service, it is not overbearing. Our waiter was incredibly knowledgeable about the wine list and expertly picked the perfect wine out of the wines that we were thinking about to complement the food.

As soon as we ordered our drinks, we were brought a basket of beautiful, tasty, and different breads. It would have been very easy to fill up on those. Then, before the first course arrived, we each had the Italian equivalent of an amuse-bouche, a toast with a pea and chive puree that was delicious.

Although many of the standard items were on the menu, there were also several that were unique. For the first course, we shared a grilled asparagus with ricotta, black olive, arugula, and a poached egg. It far exceeded our expectations.

Our second course was the risotto with lamb and spring vegetables. We are always reluctant to order risotto because it is usually cooked into submission but decided that it would be excellent here. We were right! Visually we were worried because the rice was covered with a creamy sauce but we could still taste each individual grain which perfectly complemented the rich lamb and the crunchy green vegetables.

We finished the meal with the dessert special, a blackberry pannacotta accompanied by a lemon gelato and a raspberry coulis.

This is not an inexpensive restaurant but it is worth every penny. Dinner with a drink, two glasses of wine, and an espresso was $96 plus tip.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BGTCleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A Little Taste of Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is our second visit to this restorante. We love the ambiance. We came to celebrate our anniversary. Our waiter who was from Tuscany, brought warm memories of our recent journey to Italy. He was attentive and brought us champagne to celebrate the evening! The menu is similar to menus you would find in Italy. The bread basket had several varieties of tasty morsels. The portions are small but can be shared between two people. This made it nice for sharing many different items on the menu.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenville, Illinois
Level Contributor
81 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Fun Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Had dinner at this restaurant for a family birthday party. The appetizers are great and creative and the entrees equally delicious. The assortment of breads with the salad course was fantastic. The service was efficient and attentive.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
273 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 435 helpful votes
“NICOLA'S FAILS TO IMPRESS AFTER SEVERAL CHANCES”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Restaurants deserve several chances. Everyone has a bad night.. Unfortunately, Nicola's was not able to prove itself as a worthwhile dining choice in spite of its venerable reputation. Critics love Nicola's, and certainly the restaurant has all the trappings of a marvelous experience; the decor is attractive with its warm Italian rusticity, the location in Cincinnati's hip & gentrifying Over The Rhine neighborhood is very cool, and the service is quite warm & knowledgable. However, ultimately dining is about the food and Nicola's kitchen fails miserably. The pastas, while certainly al dente, are drowning in sauces so cloyingly sweet, I was literally forced to wash my mouth out after each taste. There was nothing memorable from the appetizers to the desserts which were all bland with absolutely no inventiveness. Even the wine list was over priced and incredibly pedestrian. Cincinnati has some marvelous restaurants that can compete with dining establishments throughout the U.S. Why Nicola's is at the top of critic's dining selections is beyond my comprehension. To each his own.......

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank enofile1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
257 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“At the top of the Cincinnati list”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Been here many times. Best breadbasket of any restaurant in Cincy hands down and competitive with anywhere. Food is terrific although very rich. They do a great job with seafood including fantastic lobster ravioli.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jabrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nicola's Ristorante also viewed

 
Cincinnati, OH
 

Been to Nicola's Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing