We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Taste of Italy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nicola's Ristorante

Nicola's Ristorante
1420 Sycamore St, Ste 3, Cincinnati, OH 45202-7378
513-721-6200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Nicola's Ristorante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 1,731 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Liberty Street
Description: Nicola's is located on the corner of East Liberty and Sycamore Street
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Little Taste of Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is our second visit to this restorante. We love the ambiance. We came to celebrate our anniversary. Our waiter who was from Tuscany, brought warm memories of our recent journey to Italy. He was attentive and brought us champagne to celebrate the evening! The menu is similar to menus you would find in Italy. The bread basket had several varieties of tasty morsels. The portions are small but can be shared between two people. This made it nice for sharing many different items on the menu.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    26
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Warrenville, Illinois
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Fun Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Had dinner at this restaurant for a family birthday party. The appetizers are great and creative and the entrees equally delicious. The assortment of breads with the salad course was fantastic. The service was efficient and attentive.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre-de-Haut, Guadeloupe
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
372 helpful votes 372 helpful votes
“NICOLA'S FAILS TO IMPRESS AFTER SEVERAL CHANCES”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Restaurants deserve several chances. Everyone has a bad night.. Unfortunately, Nicola's was not able to prove itself as a worthwhile dining choice in spite of its venerable reputation. Critics love Nicola's, and certainly the restaurant has all the trappings of a marvelous experience; the decor is attractive with its warm Italian rusticity, the location in Cincinnati's hip & gentrifying Over The Rhine neighborhood is very cool, and the service is quite warm & knowledgable. However, ultimately dining is about the food and Nicola's kitchen fails miserably. The pastas, while certainly al dente, are drowning in sauces so cloyingly sweet, I was literally forced to wash my mouth out after each taste. There was nothing memorable from the appetizers to the desserts which were all bland with absolutely no inventiveness. Even the wine list was over priced and incredibly pedestrian. Cincinnati has some marvelous restaurants that can compete with dining establishments throughout the U.S. Why Nicola's is at the top of critic's dining selections is beyond my comprehension. To each his own.......

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
“At the top of the Cincinnati list”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Been here many times. Best breadbasket of any restaurant in Cincy hands down and competitive with anywhere. Food is terrific although very rich. They do a great job with seafood including fantastic lobster ravioli.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Always a nice experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We ate here with some friends for Valentines weekend. We normally love this place - the presentation of the food and quality and service are always excellent but for some reason it fell a little short of what I remembered from prior visits regarding value. I expected the bill to be about $30 less than it was.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nicola's Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to Nicola's Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nicola's Ristorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.