We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A top dining experience on the planet!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nicola's Ristorante

Nicola's Ristorante
1420 Sycamore St, Ste 3, Cincinnati, OH 45202-7378
513-721-6200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Nicola's Ristorante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 1,729 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Liberty Street
Description: Nicola's is located on the corner of East Liberty and Sycamore Street
Lexington, Kentucky
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A top dining experience on the planet!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We were shocked at how good the food and ambiance was for our company dinner. Having been to Italy four times and growing up with Italian cooking, I think it fair to say this was some of the best food experiences we've ever had. The bolognese was so unbelievably good I can't imagine it could be better any place on the planet. The interior decor was warm, and very Tuscan with brick, hearty wood and perfect lighting. Service was very good. The wine selection was great and do was the recommendation....renegade. Wow what a good meal. It was a 15 minute walk from downtown so a taxi ride would be a good option for folks who aren't used to hiking to dinner.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    106
    25
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“great upscale food in a quiet place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I went to Nicola's for dinner while on business trip. I was looking for a nice cosi restaurant, where I could get a quiet table, and that was excactly what I found.
The service was very good, and the food was delicious.
Will keep that place in mind for my next business trip for sure.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Although I lived 35 mi from Cincinnati for 36 yrs., and ate in many restaurants there, it was not until I moved to FL and returned for a visit that I found Nicola's in Tripadvisor.
Wow! The atmosphere was lovely; it is in an old trolley barn with beautiful high ceilings and decorated wonderfully.
The food was exceptional. We shared the gnocchi and butternut squash ravioli, followed by the duck and halibut entrees. A month ago we returned from an upscale food and wine tour to Paris and Provence and were amazed by the food there. The quality, taste, and presentation at Nicola's certainly rivals the best we have eaten. Service provided by Bruce Strong was also excellent!
We were so happy with our experience at Nicola's that we cancelled our reservations at another restaurant and returned to Nicola's 2 days later.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Excellent service, food and wine. If you did not know where you were, you would swear you were in Tuscany. The daily specials are excellent. Try the gnocchi, best I have had outside of Italy

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Authentic and great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

homemade pasta and a lovely urban garden makes Niclola's a unique and vibrant restaurant. Beautiful salads for lighter and delicious fare. Not cheap but worth the price--details are paid attention to.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nicola's Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to Nicola's Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nicola's Ristorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.