We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best LaRosa's in Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Rosa's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
La Rosa's
1250 W 8TH ST, Cincinnati, OH 45203
(513) 347-1111
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #393 of 1,747 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Restaurant details
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Best LaRosa's in Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This location offers the traditional LaRosa's menu items prepared with the most care of any location in the city I've yet encountered. The items are always very neatly prepared and flavorful and special requests are happily honored. The management and team members are always a delight to deal with.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    10
    5
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lawrenceburg, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Local Tradition”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Let me begin by saying that I do like LaRosa's sauce, but if you are looking for spaghetti or pizza sauce with that bite; that garlic, oregano, tight, sharp, twang of Jersey tomatoes - this isn't that sauce.
It's good - but a little sweet, and not very sharp. Being relatively new to the area, I have to rely upon the locals who tell me that the sauce changed over time, and wasn't always so sweet, so quiet.
As for the quality of the food - perfectly fine. There is a nice variety of apps, entrees, sandwiches, and more. The service is generally good - on occasion great - and the staff is welcoming when you walk in the door. As for the condition of the restaurants themselves - clean, safe, comfortable and not too loud.
I meet friends for lunch at LaRosa's often since there seems to be one in every neighborhood from Southeastern Indiana to Northern Kentucky and Eastern Cincinnati.
My husband and I take out of town family and friends to LaRosa's since it is such a Cincinnati tradition - but we also take them to Trotta's in Western Hills for that New York style triangular slab of goodness - - and when we have time for slower, but fantastic service, we take them to Giovanni's on North Bend Road. Wow! Now that's incredible sauce!
So enjoy LaRosa's as a local place, family owned, good food. But seek out the dives for sauces worthy of accolades.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Mills, Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best pizza sauce”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Cincinnati's own version of Italian. They have the best pizza sauce I've ever tasted. Calzones are fantastic. The only negative is that for whatever reason, if you get a pizza delivered, it doesn't have the same amount of toppings that if you set down in the restaurant.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Always a safe bet going to La Rosa's for pizza when in Cincinnati. It was nice to be back and enjoy some of our favorites. Great place for the whole family!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestview Hls
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“More In The Name Than The Pizza”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Personally, I have found it difficult to find really good pizza in Cincinnati. La Rosa's pizza is generally okay, but nothing special. Having said that, I wouldn't pass up eating some if offered a slice or two! What makes La Rosa's special is the La Rosa family's involvement in a variety of community-oriented causes. They definitely give back to the communities that support their pizzerias.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Rosa's also viewed

 

Been to La Rosa's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Rosa's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.