We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Name Says it All” 4 of 5 stars
Review of City View Tavern

City View Tavern
403 Oregon St, Cincinnati, OH 45202-1620
513-241-8439
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #77 of 1,657 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Bar, Hamburgers, Vegetarian, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Description: In business since 1875, and located in a residential area, City View Tavern perches about half way down the western slope of Mt. Adams. The beer is cold, the food is very good, and the view of downtown Cincinnati, the Ohio River, and Northern Kentucky is spectacular.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“The Name Says it All”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

This is a friendly laid back place. Where people of all backgrounds rub elbows. Whether you are a regular or visiting from out of town, you will be treated like an old friend. The view is the best view of downtown you will find.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deb H, Owner at City View Tavern, responded to this review, April 22, 2012
Thanks for your positive review. We constantly strive to provide our guests with the experience you had. One of the components of this experience is the word-of-mouth "advertising" you give us. Thanks again ... we're glad you enjoyed yourself, and hope you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    14
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
“Hidden gem in Mt. Adams with a great burger”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

City View Tavern is often called a "dive bar" or a "hole in the wall" place. It is also a hidden gem in Mt. Adams because it offers a nice view of downtown and the river. It serves a great burger (Big Ted Deluxe) for $6 and its beer prices are quite good as well. Both the bartender and the patrons are quite friendly.

The only factors preventing City View Tavern from getting a 5-star rating are 1) its limited space; 2) not all beers on tap are available; and 3) there are no waiters or waitresses.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deb H, Owner at City View Tavern, responded to this review, April 22, 2012
We're glad you enjoyed your visit to City View, and hope you'll return again soon. We take pride in the food we serve. Our goal is to provide an outstanding product using the best ingredients available, and to sell it at a reasonable price, cooked and served by friendly personnel who care. We hope we met our goals. To address your "negatives" ... as much as we'd like to expand, we're restricted by municipal code to our present size. We apologize for running out of some drafts. We recently installed additional taps, and are still trying to figure out how many barrels we need to meet our customer's demand. As far as no servers, it's an ancient tradition at City View; however, we have contemplated breaking with tradition on our busier nights. Thanks for the positive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cincinnati
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best burgers & view in Cincinnati”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

This place looks like a hole in the wall from the street in this trendy neighborhood. But once inside, the warmth of the bar staff and regular patrons welcomes you. Order your beverages (good selection of seasonal tap beers) and food at the bar, as there is no wait staff. Their burgers are the best in town and have won many awards. They are hand made and usually highly seasoned. Because they are hand made, they take awhile to make. Then saunter out to the small deck. Grab a table near the rail and breathe in the most beautiful view of the Ohio River, downtown Cincinnati, and the northern Kentucky hillside. There are plenty of folding chairs near the door if you can't get a table right away. Just hang out on the deck and one will come available before your burgers arrive!! Enjoy!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“It is true. Best burger in Cincinnati”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

I first went to City View in 1984. I moved away from the city shortly after, and now that I am back I try to go a couple of times a year. The downside is that when you recommend it to friends they often tell you that they just couldn't find it. That is all part of the fun!

I remain loyal to the City View burger. It is cooked through the way I like it, but it is not dried out. The view is a bonus. My father is partial to Zips, and my brother prefers Quatman's. They are both wrong, and don't listen to anyone who tells you to do go to those places for the burger. City View is the place!

I don't care that there is no table service. I don't want the bartender distracted from making my burger!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Hilarious Patrons, Great View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

This is the place to go to have a beer and look out at the city. Very cool. The clientel are fun. There's a mix of business people, old guys and students hanging out. It was great to sit outside and BS with everyone. I didn't have dinner here, though.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City View Tavern also viewed

 

Been to City View Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City View Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.