We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This may, indeed, be the best fried chicken in the world!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hitching Post Restaurant

Hitching Post Restaurant
2715 Madison Rd, Cincinnati, OH 45209-2208 (Oakley)
+1 513-871-9201
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #63 of 1,760 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: American, Family Fare, Chicken Wings, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner
Neighborhood: Oakley
Naperville, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“This may, indeed, be the best fried chicken in the world!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Stopped for dinner at this unassuming storefront on a road trip with the family and enjoyed everything: fried chicken, onion rings, potato pancakes, fried corn on the cob (yes, fried corn on the cob). Even the applesauce was good! Reasonable prices & friendly service, too. The only minus was someone who appeared to be a manager having a loud and rather personal conversation on his cell phone in the middle of the dining room.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    21
    8
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Treated Like a Queen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

If you want the royal treatment, go to Hitching Post for your meals. Every time I am there, I get the greatest service. I am treated like royalty. The servers are so wonderful. They make recommendations if you need it, are always so pleasant, and make you feel so welcome. They remember small things you ask for, like extra ranch dressing, they bring your hot food out to you quickly, refill beverages before you even ask for more, and ALWAYS GREET YOU WITH A SMILE. No other restaurant in town can delight your taste buds, fill your tummy, and leave you feeling as happy as The Hitching Post can!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Breakfast just o.k.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

My family and I ate here today for brunch. The service was good, and not a long wait. This place was kind of dingy. The carpet looked dirty, however our table was clean. The tables and chairs a little outdated, but clean. Now, I'm no stranger to eating in dives, diners and whole in walls as long as they are clean. I was expecting more, better tasting food. I ordered Frank's hometown fries. I expected a heaping, flavorful, drippy, sloppy plate of food. What I got was thinly sliced potatoes, kind of hard( could have been cooked longer), chopped onion and sprinkled bacon on top of potatoes and a dry scrambled egg on top. My food was not bad, just not flavorful. My daughter ordered the kettle French toast, too eggy and the toast was crispy??? Never had French toast quite like that before, once again, no cinnamon, vanilla or flavor, just deep fried bread with sprinkled powder sugar. My husband ordered the 3 egg veggie omelette, was just o.k., kind of dry. The coffee was good, the kettle kakes were good, the potatoe cakes were good, but really that's it. I won't be back for breakfast, but I'm wiling to try their fried chicken for lunch. Thry advertise they have the worlds best fried chicken!! Anyway, oversell, just o.k.. I'm not going to tell anyone not to eat there because maybe we ordered the wrong thing!! It was just o.k to us. The food was reasonable.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flemingsburg
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“MMMMMM chicken!!!! Fast service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

My best friend and I were venturing to Cincinnati to a concert at PNC and we were looking for places to eat prior to the concert. We saw their sign of 100 pieces of chicken for $100.00 and the World's Best Fried Chicken! So we figured what the heck we'd give it a try and we were definitely not disappointed!!!! The prices were reasonable, the chicken was phenomenal and the fixings were just as good. It is a definite ride up there and eat again kind of place!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Kettle Kakes Yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Another Cincinnati favorite and I got to visit again. We walked in sunday morning, short wait and the Kettle Kakes are on their way. These are the best way to start your breakfast gorge and you won't be disappointed. The service here has never been great but the food is and I've been coming here since I was a kid. The home fries are delicious, great breakfast period and my daughter always has potato pancakes, uh Two Orders Please? They are not lying about their chicken, cooked to order and the Best you'll ever have.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hitching Post Restaurant also viewed

 
Cincinnati, OH
 

Been to Hitching Post Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hitching Post Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.