We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zip's Cafe

Zip's Cafe
1036 Delta Ave, Cincinnati, OH 45208-3104
513-871-9876
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 1,750 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Diner, Delicatessen, Hamburgers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Malinta
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

We went here on my spring break and it was great. We loved it so much we almost stopped again on our way home very Tennessee. The atmosphere was small and comfortable. The staff was so nice. We can't wait to go back.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    43
    13
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Augusta
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good place to eat!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I've read about their Burgers for many years, being a life long resident of Cinci, so I finally tried them, they have good burgers, not great, not the best, but a good solid burger, I use to follow the old Cincinnati Burger Guys blog, when they were still reviewing burgers all over the city, many of their locations are still around & they said Zips has a good burger, but not in the top 5 or so, I agreed with them, I think the locals no matter where you are, love the food at your favorite local place like this, and that's where these places get the majority of their ratings from being so high, good place, good food, good atmosphere, great, no, the best, no, I could name a half dozen or more better Burgers around, would I go outta my way here to get another one, no, too many other better choices, try Gabby's Cafe in Wyoming, that burger blows this one away.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great Burgers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Worth the trip and highly recommend the burgers. Place gets crowded for a reason, so plan accordingly.
It has a bar type atmosphere, but they are all about the burgers and they are well worth it!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Quaint Diner in Mount Lookout - Cincinnati”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I've heard friends and family raving about Zip's in years past but today I got to see, I mean taste, for myself. My wife took me on a day trip to Cincinnati that encompassed a wonderful exhibit at the Krohn Conservatory in Eden Park called Butterflies of Morocco. We then drove to Zip's in Mount Lookout. On a Wednesday afternoon past the noon lunch hour, parking wasn't difficult to find. We entered the small diner and seated ourselves. The menu choices were simple so we knew what we wanted - hamburgers. Zip's burger with cheese is the most ordered sandwich. We also had the Saratoga Chips. Overhead a toy train encircled the entire eating area which came around every ten minutes or so; it added to the family ambience of the place. By the way, the hamburger was fantastic. If in the general area again, I'll definitely come back here.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A Classic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The old wood, the train, the service, the beer and of course zip burgers. What more can you add. This restaurant has kept up its flavor and good food. No wonder it has been around since 1926!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zip's Cafe also viewed

 
Cincinnati, OH
 

Been to Zip's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zip's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.