We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a Great Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse

Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse
700 Walnut Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202-2015 (Central Business District)
513-784-1200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 1,747 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Price range: $41 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Cross street: 7th
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Always a Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Went for dinner prior to theater. Their service is always efficient and the meals come out hot and well prepared. Did run into one strange problems this last visit. Evidently, Mr. Ruby is not happy with the N.Y. Strips he has been buying, so he has taken them off the menu for now. So, if you want a steak you are faced with a minimum $62, 20 oz. dry aged piece of meat. That's nearly $20 more than the 14 oz. N.Y. cut I usually order. Something to consider before booking.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    46
    14
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“One of Cincinnati's best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

This restaurant in downtown Cincinnati is one of the best our city has to offer. Excellent food, service, and atmosphere. Great for special occasions as well as for date night.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best Steaks in the City!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Go to any one of Jeff Ruby's restaurants and you are guaranteed to have an amazing meal. We go frequently and everything is fabulous - from the freshest seafood to the tender, juicy dry aged steaks that are ALWAYS prepared perfectly! Be sure to order the mashed potatoes as a side. They're better than the ones I make at home! The meal is pricey but so worth it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Great food -- rushed service..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We tried this restaurant for Valentine's Day. We were promptly taken to our table and greeted by our server. He was very professional and went over the specials. I ordered a Meyer's Rum and diet coke and was given spiced rum because they didn't have regular Meyer's rum. They should have said something rather than passing something else off..
Bread arrived - it was fresh, tasty and excellent. Tried a couple different salads - portions were huge and very tasty.
We both had filets and they were tender and flavorful. Get the truffle corn -- probably one of the best side dishes I have ever had in a restaurant. The mac-n-cheese a was also incredible.
When it came to dessert they had homemade ice-cream which was ok - not really worth the money. We were also given the check when dessert arrived which felt a bit pushy -- the bus boys were also staring at us with white table cloths in hand waiting for us to leave so they could bus the table. We felt rushed at this point and a bit annoyed -- we assume that it was because they wanted the table since it was a busy night -- but for this type of restaurant i would never expect to be rushed.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“These Guys Know What They Are Doing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

A day after Valentines meal with my darling wife. Jeff Ruby's was excellent from start to finish. The shrimp cocktail was great. The sauce was just horseradishy enough. The potatoes Anna were heavenly. And the steaks were like butter. Butter! We each had the 12 oz filet. Absolutely flawless. Service was first rate. Nate was very helpful. The entire place was professional and courteous. We dropped a couple hundred bucks, including wine. Worth every penny.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.