We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boss birthday dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse

Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse
700 Walnut Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202-2015 (Central Business District)
513-784-1200
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Reserve with OpenTable
Update
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 1,702 restaurants in Cincinnati
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Cross street: 7th
Chicago, IL
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Boss birthday dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

What a great meal!! My steak, a porter house was off the charts. Service was wonderful. It's like stepping back in time. The bathroom was like a speakeasy. They have an outdoor patio too. Dessert was bananas foster and cooked near your table. The server had extensive knowledge of the entire menu and wine list.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    142
    34
    14
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Old classic ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Went here just for drinks and the atmosphere was classic. You get the feeling you are stepping back in time a bit, but in an elegant, sophisticated kind of way. A piano playing in the background gives a nice backdrop to the ambiance. If the food is even half as good as the atmosphere, I will be coming back for way more than just for evening drinks.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Steaks, steaks, steaks.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Great steaks in a beautiful setting.

Filetes so tender you can cut them with your fork.

Salads fresh and crispy.

Great experience and service too!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Visiting Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse with a customer and his wife this week-end, was our first time dining in downtown Cincinnati since moving to the area and it was incredible! The atmosphere was chic, the service was excellent, and the food was amazing. My wife and I both had the Barrel-Cut Filet Mignon and it was one of the best steaks we had ever eaten. Both our salads were excellent and the mac and cheese side was very good as well. For dessert, we both had ice cream, and it ranked up there with the best ice cream we had ever eaten. I can't say enough good things about this restaurant! We will definitely go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great steak, wine, and dessert!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

i was in cincinnati visiting an old friend. he took me out to dinner at jeff ruby's 'precinct'. it was a great ambiance in the restaurant. i ordered a terrific pinot noir from oregon, king's ridge. very smooth and light. the freddie salad was 'the bomb'! the bacon hits your mouth like nothing you've ever tasted before! "blt with a buttermilk ranch dressing" is what the waiter called it. i opted for a touradoe--filet mignon medallions with garlic shrimp. dee-lish! and for dessert, we went with a strawberry flambé that they cooked up right next to our table. the menu is pricey, but the food is wonderful! after dinner, we headed upstairs to their bar area for after dinner drinks and caught this band playing some great r&b dance music. we had so much fun that night!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.