We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent high end steakhouse” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse

Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse
700 Walnut Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202-2015 (Central Business District)
513-784-1200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 1,747 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Price range: $41 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Cross street: 7th
cincinnati
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent high end steakhouse”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Top shelf service and food quality. A bet pricey but worth it just get out your wallet for the best stake in Cincy and probably the Midwest. This Ruby's is downtown and the atmosphere is city hustle and noise. Also seems to be very popular with guys or at least large groups of them.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    46
    14
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Edgewood, Kentucky
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Very good. Typical Cheesy Ruby Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I've eaten at most of Jeff Ruby's restaurants. He excels at making the experience feel exceptional - very attentive staff, extremely overpriced wine list, delicious food. It's very good, it's very expensive. It's a nice night out for a special occasion.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Jeff Ruby's Rocks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

From the moment you enter, you just get a feeling that it's going to be a delightful experience. Jeff Ruby's is a lovely place. The combination of French Art Deco design, fabulous artwork and classic lighting provide an wonderful ambience, combining fine dining with the backdrop of casual chatter and laughter of clientele. People have fun here while enjoying the finest of steaks. I was privy to the bone-in filet which was perfectly char-broiled, juicy, tender and perhaps the most tasteful steak I've had. Between dinner and a drink or two, expect to drop a bit of cash - but well worth it! Can't say enough good about this place!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AG
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent steak, a bit pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This was my second time at Ruby's. I'm pretty sure I'm gonna be back next time I'm in Cinci for business.

Excellent service, always available but discrete. Our waiter definitely knew a thing or two about wine.

My fillet was cooked just right, but $100/person seemed a bit high. Hence only 4/5 rating.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padua, Italy
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great environment, average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

The place looks and feels great: lovely and lively atmosphere, great live music, nice people... yet the steak was OK, i.e. not bad, not memorable, just average.
Paid 100 dollars for a fillet, fries, two cups of wine and some fruit.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.