We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good. Typical Cheesy Ruby Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse

Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse
700 Walnut Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202-2015 (Central Business District)
513-784-1200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 1,653 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $41 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Cross street: 7th
Edgewood, Kentucky
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Very good. Typical Cheesy Ruby Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I've eaten at most of Jeff Ruby's restaurants. He excels at making the experience feel exceptional - very attentive staff, extremely overpriced wine list, delicious food. It's very good, it's very expensive. It's a nice night out for a special occasion.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    47
    19
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Jeff Ruby's Rocks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

From the moment you enter, you just get a feeling that it's going to be a delightful experience. Jeff Ruby's is a lovely place. The combination of French Art Deco design, fabulous artwork and classic lighting provide an wonderful ambience, combining fine dining with the backdrop of casual chatter and laughter of clientele. People have fun here while enjoying the finest of steaks. I was privy to the bone-in filet which was perfectly char-broiled, juicy, tender and perhaps the most tasteful steak I've had. Between dinner and a drink or two, expect to drop a bit of cash - but well worth it! Can't say enough good about this place!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AG
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent steak, a bit pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This was my second time at Ruby's. I'm pretty sure I'm gonna be back next time I'm in Cinci for business.

Excellent service, always available but discrete. Our waiter definitely knew a thing or two about wine.

My fillet was cooked just right, but $100/person seemed a bit high. Hence only 4/5 rating.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padua, Italy
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great environment, average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

The place looks and feels great: lovely and lively atmosphere, great live music, nice people... yet the steak was OK, i.e. not bad, not memorable, just average.
Paid 100 dollars for a fillet, fries, two cups of wine and some fruit.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great food but uncomfortable atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The food was excellent and well presented. The service was impeccable. It was just too tight seating for us. We felt we had no privacy and were constantly afraid of bumping someone or something.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.