We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good steaks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse

Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse
700 Walnut Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202-2015 (Central Business District)
513-784-1200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 1,662 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Cross street: 7th
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good steaks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

Good steaks. Have eaten at most of the restaurants in this group at some point. Nice place to treat yourself.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    49
    21
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“WOW! As good as it gets!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Simply AWESOME. I eat at a LOT of steak houses, so I was skeptical when the concierge said this place was "one of the best in Ohio" - yeah, right I thought... He was right! In fact, maybe one of the best in Mid West. No joke. I had the NY strip, Medium w Pepper corn sauce. Hash browns were incredible... Pricey and worth it all the way... HIGHLY RECOMMEND

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very Good But Too Much Salt”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

My wife and I are huge fans of Jeff Ruby's restaurants. We've probably been to his restaurants about 8 times. I have noticed that about 3 times the steaks and mashed potatoes had way too much salt. Don't get me wrong I love salt, but I started coughing when I bit into my first piece of the steak. It actually nearly ruined the steak. I scraped off what I could.

The mashed potatoes just once (out of eight times or so) were so salty that again I coughed and actually couldn't even eat them. We sent them back because they were simply not edible.

Before ordering your steak you might want to tell them not to add salt or go lightly on the salt.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“OMGosh....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This was by far our best dinner while in Cincinnati. The food and service were amazing. Very pricey, but the food was outstanding. Made for a very special anniversary dinner for us.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I went here last night for the first time.. Long drive, was seated right away (7:00 on a Tuesday), fairly quick service, server was very nice and knowledgable.. Believe his name was Nate.. Anyway he could answer all of our questions right away and made sure we had everything we needed. My new York strip was delicious.. Salad wasn't anything to brag about but the asparagus and Mac and cheese were amazing! Our server even brought us out a desert on the house since we were celebrating our new marriage! We will definitely return and try the other Jeff Ruby restaurants :)

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.