We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High end menu and very fine wine list.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palace Restaurant

Palace Restaurant
601 Vine St, Cincinnati, OH 45202-2433 (Central Business District)
(513) 381-6006
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Palace Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #66 of 1,726 restaurants in Cincinnati
Price range: $31 - $80
Cuisines: French, Contemporary, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Cross street: 6th and Vine Street
Lake Orion, Michigan, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“High end menu and very fine wine list.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The menu is heavy on meat and game, if you are vegan you'll have little to select from but the waiter was happy to ask the chef to accommodate. We are pescetarians, we eat fish, so we had two choices we were happy with. The service was spot-on and the ambiance very plush. Ask for a window table to avoid the more close quarters of the main area. I disliked nothing about this restaurant. I was surprised there was such fine dining in this city!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    42
    18
    6
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Chef Jose Salazar makes The Palace a royal treat!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Attractive presentations, tasty luncheon choices, gracious white linen ambience, unobtrusive but attentive wait staff, surrounded by French Impressionist art in a quiet atmosphere made for a fine retreat! Our lump crab cakes came with a delicious remoulade sauce dressed with arugula and the gazpacho soup was refreshing! Good wine selection and absolutely try for dessert the creme brulee with citrus Madeline and the cheesecake with blackberry sorbet. Happy to see this refined dining experience for Cincinnatians!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Delicious breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

I love a good breakfast menu with excellent service and linen tablecloths and napkins! The Palace met all those requirements and more.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

If you need a place for a great breakfast, try the Palace Restaurant. It is an elegant way to start the day and the food is so fresh and good. The waitstaff is excellent too.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fantastic new food items!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

All I can say is, "Wow!" This was our second visit to the Palace, the first visit being nearly 3 years ago. The food was great then, but now it's knock-your-socks-off amazing. This being Downtown Cincinnati Restaurant Week, they were offering 3 courses at a (very) special price. My boyfriend and I chose the same item for each course. We were presented with an amuse bouche of roasted beets, orange and endive, which was divine, then a 1st course of crispy suckling pig with celeriac slaw and compressed watermelon-very cheeky and very delicious! The bouillabaisse entree was perfect, and nicely presented, too, but dessert blew us away: tiny "pearls" of cantaloupe and cucumber served with white chocolate and gin-and-tonic gelees, lime sauce and some cucumber "macaroons." Once again, wow! Yes, this restaurant is expensive, and the formality (of both atmosphere and service) can be a little daunting for those not used to such things, but I highly recommend it if you're looking for an unforgettable meal or a worthy splurge!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palace Restaurant also viewed

Cincinnati, OH
Cincinnati, OH
 
Cincinnati, OH
Cincinnati, OH
 

Been to Palace Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palace Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.