We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service in a Romantic Setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Precinct

The Precinct
311 Delta Ave, Cincinnati, OH 45226-2135
513-321-5454
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Precinct is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 1,724 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Columbia Parkway
Transit: There is a public transit stop across the street from the front entrance.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Service in a Romantic Setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

My husband took me to The Precinct for my birthday. It was fun to dress up to go out to dinner. It was a multi-course dinner where they would serve you one course at a time. The server was right there with refills on drinks constantly and was very friendly. We also had a couple of drinks at the upstairs bar while waiting for our table. Fantastic dim lighting creates a romantic atmosphere over a candlelit dinner. We haven't been back, but plan on doing so sometime.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    39
    22
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, United States
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“The best Steak you will ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

The Precinct offers the most amazing Steak you will find in the world. The service is extraordinary even in very crowded conditions but such is not an issue with the amazing quality of all the food. This is a "world class" dining experience. I simply have a difficult time eating a steak anywhere but in a Ruby restaurant. I brought friends and they agreed that this was the finest ever. We loved the local flair with the names of sports figures and the favorite steaks they enjoy. Such made this an even greater experience for me. I dine here often. This should be a bucket list place for everyone in the world.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Special day - special dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

My family went to the Precinct to celebrate my daughter recieving her master's degree. It was the perfect end to a perfect day. We all ordered filets and thought they ranked among the best we had ever had. The service was attentive. It was certainly not an every day event but someplace to go that is excellent and memorable for that special occassion.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Cincinnati Reunion with Friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

The Precinct is a great place for after dinner drinks. We ate at Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse and followed up with drinks at The Precinct. I would definitely recommend spending an evening here.
It was once an old police station.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“World Class Steakhouse in lil ol Cincinnati”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

This restaurant is the flagship location for the Jeff Ruby group. Get there early and spend some time in the bar in the back. It's lively - the bartenders know their craft and a little less formal than the dining room. If you are looking for great food and conversation in a more relaxed atmosphere - nothing beats the bar. You can reserve a table back there.

We had a drink at the bar and then moved to the dining room. Cincinnati suffers from not being near the coast - but the Precinct has never let me down in having the best crab legs and shrimp this side of the East Coast. The crab meat was sweet - the large shrimp were succulent... excellent start to the mel.

The beef is of the highest quality - on par with a Peter Luger as a comparison - for my taste. The ladies had the filet - and raved about it. My friend had the NY Strip - and it was a huge cut of meat. I had the cowboy ribeye (bone in) - that was wonderful too.

If you like spicy food - get the jeff ruby jewel - which is the cowboy ribeye with a chilli rub on it. I almost always get it since it is so different from the traditional blackened that you get at other restaurants - but still satisfies the tastbuds.

One other steak that I have to mention is the veal chop. Some of the tenderest meat you will ever eat. Highly recommended.

Sides - the Mac and cheese is to die for - I personally love sauteed spinach and thoroughly enjoy the preparation here.

For dessert try the macadmia nut pie - another unique dessert that is extremely tasty.

All in all - a wonderful place to eat a meal!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Precinct also viewed

 

Been to The Precinct? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Precinct, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.