We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“steak is the star” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Precinct

The Precinct
311 Delta Ave, Cincinnati, OH 45226-2135
513-321-5454
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Precinct is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 1,725 restaurants in Cincinnati
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Columbia Parkway
Transit: There is a public transit stop across the street from the front entrance.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“steak is the star”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Third visit to the precinct and every time a fantastic steak, could not resist to plug it for our fellow travelers. Charm of the restaurant, friendly bar scene and great appetizers will always be coming behind the shining star...the steak.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    194
    38
    21
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beaver Dam, WI
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Met all expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

4 of us enjoyed a truly wonderful experience on June 4, 2013. We were surprised at how busy the restaurant was. Our server, Chris, was knowledgeable, well paced and accommodating. The physical layout of the restaurant required amazing choreography among the wait staff.
While it is pricey, the food, drinks and wine were, in our opinion, worth the cost. Each of us had a different cut of beef and all were outstanding. The only glitch occurred when a steak ordered medium rare was delivered having been cooked to a strong medium. It was replaced immediately and without debate. The others were prepared as ordered. The flavor, texture and seasoning of each steak was unique and terrific. We would return and would not hesitate to recommend it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I loved the location (old police building) and the atmosphere was great. I had the dry agged ribeye and it was done perfectly. the dessert was a lemon sour cream cake and I would go back just for that. My steak came with mashed potatoes. When I asked for asparagus instead of the mashed potatoes . I was told I could not substitute. This was disappointing and hurt the experience. For what we were paying this should not have been a problem.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

My wife and I ate here on 6-6-13. The restaurant is in an old police precinct, which makes for a very interesting atmosphere. This is an old school steakhouse down to every single detail.

I had the foie gras appetizer. It was immaculately prepared with sauce that perfectly complemented the melt in your mouth duck liver. My wife had the scallop & lobster claw fricassee which she reported was perfect.

For a main course I had the Joey Votto, a 65 day aged new york strip. The aging made it buttery and almost as tender as a filet. It also had a slightly gamey flavor, much like prosciutto. It was absolutely perfect. My wife had the tournedos rossini which was perfectly prepared.

The service was excellent and while this is a pricey night out it was well worth it. I've been to a lot of steakhouses in my day, the Precinct is easily the best I've ever been to.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver,CO
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic Steaks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

The wait staff as well as the hostesses are all so friendly. We had heard about the restaurant but finally had the opportunity to try and we were not disappointed. The appetizers are awesome. The Shrimp are huge and so tasty. We started out with a seasonal tomato, argula and fresh mozzerela cheese salad that was very fresh. My husband had the iceberg wedge which is a standard for salads with him. All of the steaks are Prime which is a real plus. My husband had the Brandon Phillips which was a peppercorn crusted filet with a brandy cream sauce. Totally awesome. I decided to try the Santa Ono Filet Mignon which was a Wagyu Kobe Beef and cut to order. It was the most flavorful steak I have ever eaten. We were so full we did not have room for the fabulous deserts. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Precinct also viewed

 

Been to The Precinct? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Precinct, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.