We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mom says"you will never lose eating at The Precinct"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Precinct

The Precinct
311 Delta Ave, Cincinnati, OH 45226-2135
513-321-5454
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Precinct is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 1,769 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Columbia Parkway
Transit: There is a public transit stop across the street from the front entrance.
Description: For Jeff Ruby, this is the steakhouse that started it all. In 1981, The Precinct was born in the former Cincinnati Police Patrol House Number 6. This turn-of-the-century, Romanesque-style structure would hold what is now the longest, continuously running white tablecloth restaurant in the city. Recently named one of America's Top 10 Steakhouses by USA Today and Gayot.com, The Precinct is frequently recognized as having Cincinnati’s best steaks, seafood and service. This consistent high level of quality and overall guest experience over 3 decades has endeared Precinct to celebrities, businesspeople, families and loyal diners alike.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Mom says"you will never lose eating at The Precinct"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

The service was exceptional and all the staff was very attentive and proactive. The steaks were delicious and perfectly cooked.
Each time we dine here I cannot wait to go back.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    48
    24
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Might be the best restaurant in Cincinnati”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Everything about the Precinct is first class. The steaks are obviously the featured entrees, and some of them cost over $50, but there are lower cost options as well. You have your choice of the Freddie or Greek salads. We all enjoyed the Freddie, and the waiter gave us a free one to take home!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Still Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I believe this is the first of Jeff Ruby's restaurants, and it is still getting it right after almost 30 years. Top-notch staff, service and food. Known for its steaks, $43 will get you a strip steak, choice of baked or mashed potato and salad - I recommend the Greek with tomatoes, olives and feta cheese - it's delicious. Valet parking ($5) is on site. We told them in advance we were celebrating our anniversary; the hostess acknowledged it, as did our excellent server (Ricky) who treated us to a piece of cheesecake. The manager and dining room captain both stopped by our table to see if we were happy - fine dining in Cincinnati!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cop Shop without the donuts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

An arresting experience (pardon the pun). Great food and service. This place is as much an experience as it is a restaurant

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Love The Precinct”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We had a wonderful family dinner at the Precinct with our adult children. Everyone loved their steak. My daughter said her lobster was delicious. Our dinners were large, filling and delicious.
The restaurant was very busy but, we received very polite and courteous service from the wait staff. All I can say is " WOW", regarding the atmosphere and decor. It was as if we stepped back in time to a speak easy. The many chandeliers are just beautiful!
We are looking forward to our next visit to The Precinct.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Precinct also viewed

 

Been to The Precinct? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Precinct, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.