We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Went for a special occasion” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Precinct

The Precinct
311 Delta Ave, Cincinnati, OH 45226-2135
513-321-5454
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Precinct is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 1,725 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Price range: $0 - $80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Columbia Parkway
Transit: There is a public transit stop across the street from the front entrance.
Description: For Jeff Ruby, this is the steakhouse that started it all. In 1981, The Precinct was born in the former Cincinnati Police Patrol House Number 6. This turn-of-the-century, Romanesque-style structure would hold what is now the longest, continuously running white tablecloth restaurant in the city. Recently named one of America's Top 10 Steakhouses by USA Today and Gayot.com, The Precinct is frequently recognized as having Cincinnati’s best steaks, seafood and service. This consistent high level of quality and overall guest experience over 3 decades has endeared Precinct to celebrities, businesspeople, families and loyal diners alike.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Went for a special occasion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We were well-treated, the food was fantastic and overall the staff was super friendly. The steaks are very high quality and cooked to perfect and all of the side dishes complimented the meat perfectly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    39
    23
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Our evening at The Precinct matched our expectations for fine food! We had no wait but did have a reservation. The Steak Collinsworth was superb, as was the Ribeye Special. Loved the Freddie Salad. The only exception to a wonderful evening is that we were seated by the Captain's station where he prepared flambe several times and we didn't care for being so close to the flames. Would simply ask for another table location the next time. And...there will be a next time!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“DELICIOUS!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The steaks are always amazing! Get the Freddie salad- the best! Decor is a little dated, but the food is great!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Tamp 'em up solid”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This wasn't our cheapest meal enjoyed while in Cincinnati but it most certainly was one of the best. I thought the Freddie salad was delicious and the blackened NY strip was cooked to perfection and equally delicious. Our youngest wasn't as impressed being particularly disappointed with the Greek salad. But for me, with the exception of the lava cake, the meal ranks among my favorites.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good steaks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Went to the Precinct with my husband. We made a reservation some days in advance for 8pm. We arrived at 7.55pm and they told was to do to the bar while waiting for the table to be ready. At 8.15pm someone came to meet us at the bar to get us to our table. Didn't like that they didn't apologize for the 15 minutes wait. If we make a reservation and have to wait still, at least would expect them to apologize for waiting...
For appetizer we had the Arancini, it was good, not great (had better Arancini at La Tavola in OTR). For the Entree I wanted to try the Bone In 65 days aged NY Strip, it was very good, very tender. My husband had the Bone-In Filet Mignon, it was very good too. We also shared the corn casserole, it was good. Both dishes came with smashed potatoes with garlic and some fried onions. For dessert we had the special, a flour less chocolate cake with coconut ice cream, it was good. Overall it wasn't a great meal, but the steaks were very good.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Precinct also viewed

 

Been to The Precinct? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Precinct, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.