We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food, good atmosphere, good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Teak Thai Cuisine and Sushi Bar

Teak Thai Cuisine and Sushi Bar
1051 Saint Gregory St, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Mount Adams)
513-665-9800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Teak Thai Cuisine and Sushi Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #410 of 1,731 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese, Thai, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Street Food
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Mount Adams
Cross street: Pavlion
Description: Teak Thai Cusine and Sushi Bar is located in Cincinnati and serves Thai Cuisine.
Decorah, Iowa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“good food, good atmosphere, good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I travel to Cincinnati on business once per year in early June, and my colleagues and I make a point to visit Teak Thai one evening. The walk to Mt. Adams from downtown is a bit long and you need good directions or GPS, but the food at Teak is worth it. A nice selection of Thai dishes along with an extensive sushi menu. The food is good enough to bring us back but probably not outstanding. The old house in which the restaurant is located is quaint with various levels. Service is usually quite good -- ask for Felicidad; she is a hoot.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    27
    10
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Good not great Thai. Filthy. Needs a good scrubbing.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We've been to Teak a few times before over the years. If you are catching a show at Playhouse in the Park its about a 10 minute walk on a nice day from the theater. Food is good. Decent variety. My problem with the restaurant is that it's so dirty. The hand rails, steps and walls going up the steps inside the restaurant are filthy and sticky. Looks like nobody has cleaned the whole restaurant for many many years. The walls and furniture are dirty. There's water damage that looks like it's been that way for years.

Our group of 6 dined there on the back porch nestled into the Mt Adams hillside. The trees hang over the tables and 4 times during our meal the birds pooped onto our table, getting a plate, a drink, one lady's hair and my wife's clothing.
Bugs and tree parts constantly drifted onto our food... So I'm thinking they should invest a little $ and cut back the trees.
Dirty:
My big white plate that was placed in front of me had two thumb size splotches of brown food already on it. How anybody could serve that is beyond me. No apology when I traded it back in.
One of our party found a grain of rice in his beer (!) and when he complained about it, a staff person told him it came out of the tap. Excuse me? A piece of old rice comes out of their beer tap? I don't think so.
We split a 22 oz bottle of Sapporo beer. When the server set the beer bottle on the table, the whole side of it was covered in some dark brown sticky goo. This leads me to believe that their "Working" part of the restaurant is at least as dirty as the guest side. Cleanliness is clearly not a priority at Teak.
We will find another place in Mt Adams area next time.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Good food, nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Good Thai food that can be brought to very spicy if that is your thing. They have a small nice seating area in back. Been twice and never disappointed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Good Thai Food in Cincinnati”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Went to Teak for dinner a few nights ago with friends. Teak is a dependable choice in the Mt. Adams area, nothing amazing but nothing bad either. I had the chicken pad thai and it was fine. Between the 6 of us we all ordered different dishes and all of us enjoyed our food. Service was friendly and quick. I am sure I will go back to Teak on occasion but it's not the kind of thing I will be craving.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paro, Bhutan
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Best Thai in Town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Long time personal favorite. Ate their twice last week. Always get the Crispy Basil Duck. Volcano Shrimp is excellent. Panang Beef is my wife's favorite

Nice outdoor seating for summer. Sushi as well which for some reason every Cincinnati Thai restaurant feels compelled to serve...

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Teak Thai Cuisine and Sushi Bar also viewed

Cincinnati, OH
Cincinnati, OH
 
Cincinnati, OH
 

Been to Teak Thai Cuisine and Sushi Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Teak Thai Cuisine and Sushi Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.