We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cincinnati institution” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Graeter's Ice Cream

Graeter's Ice Cream
650 Walnut St, Cincinnati, OH 45202-2517 (Central Business District)
(513) 977-4129
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 1,765 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Dessert, Californian, Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch
Neighborhood: Central Business District
springfield
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Cincinnati institution”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

Cincy folks are very proud of this first ice cream to add chips to their ice cream! I recommend the Black Raspberry first; then coconut chip; then chocolate chocolate chip. The Buckeye is very rich--so be prepared. Prices are not that bad actually for such a special treat. They are all over the city--like in Hyde Park on Erie Avenue. My one suggestion is that it's time for a redo on the atmosphere. I was surprised to find Disney Frozen tins of basic candy--it just made it look a little shabby chic. I'm not going to enter the Team Graeters or Team Aglamesis debate because Cincinnati is lucky to have both!

  • Visited February 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    24
    9
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
288 reviews 288 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

There is definitely a difference with Grater's Ice Cream! There is just something about the texture that provides a rich taste, and it is easily addictive. While all of the flavors are delicious, the Bourbon Ball is probably the best ice cream I have EVER tasted!

Visited February 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“A True US Ice Cream Landmark”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

If you love ice cream as much as I do you must try Graeter's!
My family and I go there about once a month and are impressed with every flavor we get. Great service, very clean.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Black raspberry chocolate chip did not disappoint!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014

Yummy ice cream!! No more expensive than other ice cream chains, and way better flavors! The "Black Raspberry Chocolate Chip" really was as good as I was told, and it is what they are known for. I loved it! The service was excellent also!

  • Visited December 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great ice cream, worth any wait”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2014

The ice cream was great, lots of unusual flavors. I got Buckeye Blitz and the chocolate chunks in it melted in my mouth. I'd planned to go back just to buy some chocolate. The only downside is there is limited seating, but the ice cream is worth standing to eat it.

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Graeter's Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Graeter's Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Graeter's Ice Cream, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.