We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really terrific ice cream!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Graeter's Ice Cream

Graeter's Ice Cream
650 Walnut St, Cincinnati, OH 45202-2517 (Central Business District)
(513) 977-4129
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 1,747 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Dessert, Californian, Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Austin, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Really terrific ice cream!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

While visiting family, we made a point of going to Graeter's to see if all the reviews were right. They were! Considering how labor intensive this ice cream is to make, we were surprised that it cost about the same as other styles of ice cream. Old fashioned French pot ice cream is unique in the way it is produced two gallons at a time and without beating in air making it a very dense custard style ice cream. Graeter's ice cream lived up to it's reputation. We enjoyed ours in the park across from the shop.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    24
    9
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Tried a mocha coffee chiller a few days ago. I am a HUGE fan of Dunkin Doughnuts frozen coffee but Graters gave them a run for their money with tiny pieces of crushed chocolate chips in a milk shake consistency glass of indulgence! What a treat; I don't even want to know the calorie count!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Love chocolate and Graeter's!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Graeter's chocolate chocolate chip ice cream was the best I ever tasted. The chips are HUGE! The location on Fountain Square is a perfect place to enjoy music, people watching or just a place to sit and enjoy your ice cream. My husband thinks the toffee chip is the best. My grandson goes for the pastries! It is a perfect stop before of after a Red's game. Don't miss it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great ice cream, super favours, generous helping”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Excellent ice cream, a Cincinnati legend, lots of interesting flavours, and the chocolate chips are chunky and really good. Definitely worth a visit

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great location on the square.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

This was our first trip to the fountain square location and was surprised to see that it was open so late. It was nice to be able to get a treat after 6:00 when all of the other stores close. They had many items to choose from in addition to all of the ice cream choices.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Graeter's Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Graeter's Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Graeter's Ice Cream, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.