We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only ribs I'll eat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Montgomery Inn at the Boathouse

Montgomery Inn at the Boathouse
925 Riverside Drive, Cincinnati, OH 45202-1631
(513) 721-7427
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Montgomery Inn at the Boathouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #94 of 1,782 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: American, Californian, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Eggleston Avenue
gottagoqueen
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The only ribs I'll eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I always thought it was disgusting to watch people eat greasy ribs. Montgomery Inn changed my mind. My favorite is the ribs and shrimp. The plum sauce must be mixed to get full flavor and not put me on the floor with the sinus rush. Don't get me wrong, it is YUM! View is great. Service typically good. Decent pricing. My young daughter said, 'Beats the heck out of McDonalds' It got a good laugh. Seems like we've stopped in a few times on weekends and were disappointed it wasn't open earlier --lunch or Sunday. I can't remember so check the hours of op.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    185
    115
    46
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Wonderful restaurant on the Ohio River with a great view. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Had a great time.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, Michigan
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

My wife and I celebrated fathers day at the Inn. This is my favorite place for ribs in the Cincinnati area - they are so delicious and simply fall right off the bone. The BBQ sauce is fantastic - always like to have a bottle around the house for my own pulled pork! The Boathouse is in a great location with nice river views.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marquette, Michigan, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The view is the best part”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

It took awhile for the waitress to get our drink orders and she seemed bored and disinterested. After we ordered our food she said she was going to bring bread. About 15 minutes later we asked if we were still getting it and she replied in an annoyed tone "it's coming." I didn't like the ribs/barbecue sauce at all. My boyfriend gave me his shrimp and those were generically deep fried. Being from out of town I was hoping for a great Cincinnati dining experience but I didn't get it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A Cincinnati Tradition”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

A great view of the river, and good food. Nothing spectacular but the staff is friendly and the food is fairly priced. No need for valet since the parking lot in front of the restaurant was not full. I had the pulled pork sandwich with a sweet potato. I had to request sauce for the pork since it had little flavor. Good BBQ doesn't need sauce.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montgomery Inn at the Boathouse also viewed

 

Been to Montgomery Inn at the Boathouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montgomery Inn at the Boathouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.