We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ribs and duck” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Montgomery Inn at the Boathouse

Montgomery Inn at the Boathouse
925 Riverside Drive, Cincinnati, OH 45202-1631
(513) 721-7427
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Montgomery Inn at the Boathouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #82 of 1,658 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: American, Californian, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Eggleston Avenue
Salina
Level Contributor
114 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Ribs and duck”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I came here for a business dinner and found it quite nice. The restaurant was packed and quite noisy, which made it a little difficult to socialize but that's my only complaint. The food was outstanding. The duck was terrific, and they have a nice selection of wine.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    197
    119
    47
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Bland and tasteless”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Just finished dinner here. Sorry, but I have had better ribs at Fridays, Outback, Denny's, you name it. No flavoring (hickory or othertwise) no seasoning. I tried the ribs with sauce on the side so I could savor what I assumed would be the flavor of the meat - not. Absolutely tasteless and lacked freshness. Other dinners with me had the same bland experience. The service was ok, but the waitress coughing her lungs up while taking our order was a bit un-settleling.

No reason what so ever to go back, except maybe for the views and a cocktail. I suppose burgers could be ok. Don't go for the ribs!!!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
251 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Noisy, fun, delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Noisy, 40 minute wait in the bar despite a reservation, but lots of happy people anticipating the delicious ribs. Great river view. And did I mention the delicious ribs? Large menu of other things to eat, but really, you should have the ribs.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Although not a huge fan of BBQ I loved theirs. The meat, I had chicken and chop, was cooked perfectly and the BBQ sauce, server on the side, was flavorful and not overly sweet. The place has an upscale feel but still casual and staff are friendly and helpful.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“I Love This Place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

I took one last trip down memory lane prior to relocating to Knoxville TN. Same great experience I have come to know and love. I often wonder why such a excellent product has not made it to the South. I know I would eat there on a regular basis. Love it and will enjoy it once again as I swing through Cincinnati!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montgomery Inn at the Boathouse also viewed

 

Been to Montgomery Inn at the Boathouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montgomery Inn at the Boathouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.