We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very cool museum!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of American Sign Museum

American Sign Museum
1330 Monmouth Street, Cincinnati, OH 45225
513-541-6366
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 62 Attractions in Cincinnati
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are home to a visual history of American Signage from 1870 through 1970. Hand carved wooden signs, gold leaf, electric light bulbs, and neon all grace our walls and tell amazing stories, especially when told by our founder and avid collector Tod. Take a trip down memory lane and visit us in the Camp Washington neighborhood of Cincinnati!
katonah, ny
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A very cool museum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We spent a couple of very interesting hours touring the sign museum. They have all sorts of signs and the history of signmaking is fascinating. Take the tour with the owner of the museum...he really makes it all come alive!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    31
    7
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, Kansas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Super fun wedding reception”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This was a unique and fun place to go to a wedding reception. However, I did try to contact them about hosting my own reception, and they never responded.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“An Hour Well Spent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The location of this museum is not on the '"beaten path" . However, it is not difficult to find and it is certainly well worth the time. It would have been interesting without a guide but having someone share history and facts made it all the better. Almost missed it but so glad I didn't!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cool place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I went with my mom to The American Sign Museum and had a blast! Definitely worth seeing! We took the tour and learned a lot of interesting facts about the signs and how they've evolved over the years. The tour guide was very passionate about his signs so it made the tour worth it. For the admission fee you get, a free button, a guided tour which takes about an hour(self guided tours are allowed too) and you get to watch a neon sign being made and ask questions. It was affordable too! I really enjoyed seeing the signs but, for my mom, it was a walk down memory lane to see all the old signs! The back room is set up like an old town with cobble stone roads so you can see how some of the signs actually looked when they were in use years ago. I also remember something about a room in the back that you can rent out for parties!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“wonderful piece of history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Take the guided tour! Todd was a wealth of information and we found it so interesting! I highly recommend this!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed American Sign Museum also viewed

 

Been to American Sign Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage American Sign Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.