We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Hour Well Spent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of American Sign Museum

American Sign Museum
1330 Monmouth Street, Cincinnati, OH 45225
513-541-6366
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 85 attractions in Cincinnati
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: We are home to a visual history of American Signage from 1870 through 1970. Hand carved wooden signs, gold leaf, electric light bulbs, and neon all grace our walls and tell amazing stories, especially when told by our founder and avid collector Tod. Take a trip down memory lane and visit us in the Camp Washington neighborhood of Cincinnati!
Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An Hour Well Spent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The location of this museum is not on the '"beaten path" . However, it is not difficult to find and it is certainly well worth the time. It would have been interesting without a guide but having someone share history and facts made it all the better. Almost missed it but so glad I didn't!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    29
    6
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cool place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I went with my mom to The American Sign Museum and had a blast! Definitely worth seeing! We took the tour and learned a lot of interesting facts about the signs and how they've evolved over the years. The tour guide was very passionate about his signs so it made the tour worth it. For the admission fee you get, a free button, a guided tour which takes about an hour(self guided tours are allowed too) and you get to watch a neon sign being made and ask questions. It was affordable too! I really enjoyed seeing the signs but, for my mom, it was a walk down memory lane to see all the old signs! The back room is set up like an old town with cobble stone roads so you can see how some of the signs actually looked when they were in use years ago. I also remember something about a room in the back that you can rent out for parties!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“wonderful piece of history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Take the guided tour! Todd was a wealth of information and we found it so interesting! I highly recommend this!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Walk down memory lane”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Shows the evolution of signing in the last 100 years. It great to see so much of our history in one place

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fascinating place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We arrived slightly late for tour but were allowed to join in with the founder going round- so glad we did, added greatly to visit.
What an interesting guy, answered all questions including things about funding and the business manager also let us see new area they have got with unrestored signs. Stayed 2hours and then it closed! Definitely worth a visit, do the tour.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed American Sign Museum also viewed

 

Been to American Sign Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage American Sign Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added American Sign Museum to your Saves list