We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved all the nostalgia” 4 of 5 stars
Review of American Sign Museum

American Sign Museum
1330 Monmouth Street, Cincinnati, OH 45225
513-541-6366
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 191 things to do in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are home to a visual history of American Signage from 1870 through 1970. Hand carved wooden signs, gold leaf, electric light bulbs, and neon all grace our walls and tell amazing stories, especially when told by our founder and avid collector Tod. Take a trip down memory lane and visit us in the Camp Washington neighborhood of Cincinnati!
Mason, Ohio
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Loved all the nostalgia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I really like the setting, just a fun place to lay back and remember the old days. Like a walk down memory lane.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    39
    8
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Take the guided tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We followed the advice of Trip Advisor reviews and took the guided tour, it was great. Really made sense of the displays as he described sign making from around the turn of the century to the 70's. Really fascinating and enjoyable, highly recommend a visit.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great place to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

A ' must see' in Cincinnati. It's an art museum of signs. We were lucky to get there just in time to join the 2pm guided tour and it was well worth it. Todd was a mine of information and knowledge about the signs and the history of signs and really engaging. It's not a big 'museum' and the tour took us about an hour. The signs are really cool and there is quite a wide variety of them. They just moved to this new location a year ago. It would be a really great place to have an event. Plenty of parking and a small gift shop.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylmer, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Here's your sign”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

If you are ever in the Cincinnati area and have an hour or two of free time, visit the American Sign Museum. You won't be disappointed. But a word of warning. Take the guided tour. Without it, the museum is just a building with a lot of neat signs. With the tour, the collection comes to life and the exhibits have a natural flow and progression. Todd, the museum's creator, gives the tour and, wow, does he know his stuff! As a bonus, at the end of the tour, we visited a shop in the same building that crafted neon signs. All in all, a very enjoyable morning that I would highly recommend to everyone.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn Hills, Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A "Must-See" in Cincinnati”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I absolutely enjoyed my time at the American Sign Museum. First of all, make sure to take the guided tour. The founder is a pretty good presenter and really knows his stuff- he makes the place come to life. The tour starts with a little history and establishing facts about signs as well as his background and qualifications. This introduction really puts things in perspective and helps you appreciate the signs on display. All in all, the tour went just over an hour- he is great with answering questions concisely and wrangling niche questions and special interests until the end. So happy they have a new location, better hours, and more signs on display!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to American Sign Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage American Sign Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.