We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History in living color.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of American Sign Museum

American Sign Museum
1330 Monmouth Street, Cincinnati, OH 45225
513-541-6366
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 63 Attractions in Cincinnati
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are home to a visual history of American Signage from 1870 through 1970. Hand carved wooden signs, gold leaf, electric light bulbs, and neon all grace our walls and tell amazing stories, especially when told by our founder and avid collector Tod. Take a trip down memory lane and visit us in the Camp Washington neighborhood of Cincinnati!
Bluffton, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“History in living color.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Todd has worked hard to preserve and tell the story of America's sign history. It's so fun to see the old signs that bring back memories. The tour is definitely worth it.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    34
    8
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Don't be hesitant...Just Go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We almost skipped this, because we weren't sure how it would be. My husband is a big American Pickers fans, so that's why we went, lol! It's really cool! The founder gives the tours and he knows everything!!! If you live in Ohio, you should have a wedding reception here! It would be spectacular! The $15 admission seemed like a lot, but the museum is not for profit, so that was more understandable.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worthwhile and Quirky”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The American Sign Museum might be the only collection of its kind - we had a very enjoyable time re-living lots of Americana, memories of signage and products we'd forgotten, and learning about earlier times. The staff was extremely friendly, and the owner gave us an impromptu tour! This stop can be covered in an hour if you don't have a lot of time, but 2 hours is ideal.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Toured during an event, wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This museum was a fun place for an event, in this case, a birthday party and was a wonderful trip down memory lane as a museum. We had a fun, enlightening evening.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Ohio
Top Contributor
297 reviews 297 reviews
65 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This place is really fun to visit my only problem with it is they need to update there bathroom other than that it was fine and enjoyable.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to American Sign Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage American Sign Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.