We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring your camera! I will return.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of American Sign Museum

American Sign Museum
1330 Monmouth Street, Cincinnati, OH 45225
513-541-6366
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 88 Attractions in Cincinnati
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: We are home to a visual history of American Signage from 1870 through 1970. Hand carved wooden signs, gold leaf, electric light bulbs, and neon all grace our walls and tell amazing stories, especially when told by our founder and avid collector Tod. Take a trip down memory lane and visit us in the Camp Washington neighborhood of Cincinnati!
Joplin, Missouri, USA
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Bring your camera! I will return.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

The group I practically forced to visit The American Sign museum with me did NOT want to go. They thought it sounded boring and also thought it was a sign language museum. We walked around in awe looking at the old Howard Johnson, Route 66, and other neat old business signs. When we left the place my group thanked me for making them go. It was SO much fun! We all brought our cameras and took dozens of photos of the retro neon signs. We will definitely return.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    31
    6
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Neat Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

The American Sign Museum is a very cool place to go if you enjoy old school Americana the time and effort they have put in to making and designing this museum if very neat they do offer a tour however I was on a time crunch and couldn't not participate my only complaint is it is a little small and I think the 15 dollar adult price is a little high for the size of the museum there are many other attractions that are bigger and more time worthy for a 15 and above price but other than that if you enjoy old American history it is a neat place to check out

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice collection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Our family of four toured this museum and enjoyed the variety of signs and the history of them. The tour was worthwhile and very informative. The design of the museum is creative and attractive, however, it's a bit small and we thought it was overpriced ($50 for the four of us). We spent about 1.5 hours here. That being said, I'd recommend this for middle-aged or older adults who will no doubt relate to the variety of signs!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Micro Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We had an awesome time at this museum. There were only a few other people there so I was able to have plenty of fun taking photos of the gorgeous vintage signs. They have their own inhouse Neon shoop which is really cool also. Be sure and stop in.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Unique”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The American Sign Museum is a unique and interesting experience. This was my first time in their new location (they were in fairly cramped quarters before), and they've done a great job with the space making it seem like a streetscape. They have an unusual collection of all kinds of signs across many decades. The exhibits are interesting and informative. I would put this on my list of things to do in Cincinnati, for locals and visitors alike.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed American Sign Museum also viewed

 

Been to American Sign Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage American Sign Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.