We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Micro Museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of American Sign Museum

American Sign Museum
1330 Monmouth Street, Cincinnati, OH 45225
513-541-6366
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 129 things to do in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are home to a visual history of American Signage from 1870 through 1970. Hand carved wooden signs, gold leaf, electric light bulbs, and neon all grace our walls and tell amazing stories, especially when told by our founder and avid collector Tod. Take a trip down memory lane and visit us in the Camp Washington neighborhood of Cincinnati!
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Micro Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We had an awesome time at this museum. There were only a few other people there so I was able to have plenty of fun taking photos of the gorgeous vintage signs. They have their own inhouse Neon shoop which is really cool also. Be sure and stop in.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    54
    14
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
103 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Unique”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The American Sign Museum is a unique and interesting experience. This was my first time in their new location (they were in fairly cramped quarters before), and they've done a great job with the space making it seem like a streetscape. They have an unusual collection of all kinds of signs across many decades. The exhibits are interesting and informative. I would put this on my list of things to do in Cincinnati, for locals and visitors alike.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
1 review
“If you love vintage Americana-- you will be so impressed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

A great tour, an amazing museum-- wonderful interpretation. I felt like a kid again! The history of American signage is the history of our main streets and highways. I'm so glad that someone is so professionally and sympathetically preserving this heritage.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
259 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Recently redone”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The American Sign Museum moved to new quarters in June 2012 and I went soon after they opened. Everything was clean and nicely displayed. It was fun to go with someone and share rememberances of some of the signs of the past. The place brought back many memories. They have several really big signs and many smaller items in display cases. It is in an older section of town and has a free parking lot. I found the museum very interesting.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebron, Kentucky, United States
1 review
“Best Hidden Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

One of the most extensive collections of signs that reflects on the American past. We spent well over 3 hours touring this facility. Very clean, the personnel are friendly and willing to go out of their way to make your time there informative. Definitely go for the tours which are set at 11AM and 1PM. The neon signs and clocks are a knockout!!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to American Sign Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage American Sign Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.