We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of American Sign Museum

American Sign Museum
1330 Monmouth Street, Cincinnati, OH 45225
513-541-6366
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 63 Attractions in Cincinnati
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are home to a visual history of American Signage from 1870 through 1970. Hand carved wooden signs, gold leaf, electric light bulbs, and neon all grace our walls and tell amazing stories, especially when told by our founder and avid collector Tod. Take a trip down memory lane and visit us in the Camp Washington neighborhood of Cincinnati!
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lots of fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Unique museum, 10 year old son loved it too. Very cool place will appeal to all ages. Great way to spend a winter afternoon.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    34
    8
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Morrow, Ohio
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

At first I though this would be boring but it was very well put together. I remember some of the signs when I was a kid. My 8 yr old thought is was cool tool. This is a nice little gem in Cincinnati. It is really worth going to see and they really tell you the history behind the signs too.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“More than just the history of signs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I learned about this museum earlier this year, about the time they were moving to their new location. The museum is somewhat deceiving from the street, but once you turn into their parking and pull up to the main entrance, you know you've come to the right place. Definitely plan to go on the tour, so go to their website and schedule one ahead of time. You will learn so much more than just the history of signs, but the history of the times that they were made.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheatland, California
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Neat place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We visited last weekend. I think this is a neat museum and worth a visit if you are anywhere near Cincinnati. You have to take a tour to really appreciate everything, though. When we arrived it was a 20 minutes before the tour started so we walked around on our own. It was neat, but then during the tour we got more history and the signs were even cooler. Our tour guide was the owner of the museum and he did a good job of explaining the various types of signs and the history of sign-making.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Oglethorpe, Georgia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“American Sign Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

If you are planning a trip to Cincinnati. Please visit the American Sign Museum, It is hard to find, I used a GPS and I got lost but It is a wonderful place to visit. I highly recommend it.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to American Sign Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage American Sign Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.