We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Museum With Heart” 5 of 5 stars
Review of American Sign Museum

American Sign Museum
1330 Monmouth Street, Cincinnati, OH 45225
513-541-6366
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 85 attractions in Cincinnati
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: We are home to a visual history of American Signage from 1870 through 1970. Hand carved wooden signs, gold leaf, electric light bulbs, and neon all grace our walls and tell amazing stories, especially when told by our founder and avid collector Tod. Take a trip down memory lane and visit us in the Camp Washington neighborhood of Cincinnati!
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A Museum With Heart”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The American Sign Museum is not just a collection of signs. There are ubiquitous works of art mixed with intricate hand-rendered signs from people who didn't just make signs - they lived it and loved it. As mentioned in almost every review, the founder Tod Swormstedt, not only knows the details of every element, he delights in sharing his vast knowledge and love of the craft. Whether your interests lie in early American ephemera or the beauty of well-executed craftsmanship, this is a magical place.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    29
    6
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
liberty112
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

My father and I visited the American Sign Museum in August 2012. We skipped the group tour and walked around by ourselves and enjoyed looking at the great collections and reading about the different materials used to make signs during different eras. It is a wonderful place for photogaphy as there are several opportunities to snap shots of items that are often no longer in circulation.

We parked on the street before we realized after walking around the back of the building that there is an actual parking lot.

Good place to visit, clean, interesting, and a lot of neat history here! Plan to spend 1-2 hours browsing.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Went before their grand opening!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I had wanted to go to this museum for a few years. It was previously in a smaller location. We went before the grand opening, but were given a personalized tour by Tod Swormsted, the founder. The signs are spectacular; all restored. There are storefronts which feature different sign and periods of time when they were most popular. Only wish it had opened earlier so we could have experienced everything, and take home a T shirt!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Opening Party - Great Americana on Display”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We received an invite to the opening party for the new location. This is a really fun and light-hearted view of American history. Thye have gone to great lengths to provide an educational experience that is lively and exciting. Every nook is packed with the unexpected. It is not a huge place and can be viewed fairly thoroughly in a couple hours. Go, enjoy, take photos, laugh, remember. But mostly...GO!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado, United States
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“An out of the way gem of nostalgia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Located in a unassuming area of town, this museum is nothing less than amazing. They have neon signs from just about every last stand hotel and restaurant that I grew up with as a kid. There are signs everywhere all glowing different colors, flashing and reminding you of earlier days. Well worth the visit.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed American Sign Museum also viewed

 

Been to American Sign Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage American Sign Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added American Sign Museum to your Saves list