We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Went before their grand opening!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of American Sign Museum

American Sign Museum
1330 Monmouth Street, Cincinnati, OH 45225
513-541-6366
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 90 Attractions in Cincinnati
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are home to a visual history of American Signage from 1870 through 1970. Hand carved wooden signs, gold leaf, electric light bulbs, and neon all grace our walls and tell amazing stories, especially when told by our founder and avid collector Tod. Take a trip down memory lane and visit us in the Camp Washington neighborhood of Cincinnati!
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Went before their grand opening!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I had wanted to go to this museum for a few years. It was previously in a smaller location. We went before the grand opening, but were given a personalized tour by Tod Swormsted, the founder. The signs are spectacular; all restored. There are storefronts which feature different sign and periods of time when they were most popular. Only wish it had opened earlier so we could have experienced everything, and take home a T shirt!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    31
    7
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Opening Party - Great Americana on Display”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We received an invite to the opening party for the new location. This is a really fun and light-hearted view of American history. Thye have gone to great lengths to provide an educational experience that is lively and exciting. Every nook is packed with the unexpected. It is not a huge place and can be viewed fairly thoroughly in a couple hours. Go, enjoy, take photos, laugh, remember. But mostly...GO!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado, United States
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“An out of the way gem of nostalgia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Located in a unassuming area of town, this museum is nothing less than amazing. They have neon signs from just about every last stand hotel and restaurant that I grew up with as a kid. There are signs everywhere all glowing different colors, flashing and reminding you of earlier days. Well worth the visit.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fascinating! Must See!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

“Fascinating” is the only word I could say when leaving the American Sign Museum. I really didn’t know what to expect. We were lucky enough to get Todd, Founder, to lead our tour. His knowledge is so in-depth, we couldn’t find a question to stump him. Most people don’t really appreciate all the artwork that goes into the design and creation of these signs. The timeline of sign design through painted wood letters to neon to plastics really told American history as well. The American Sign Museum is a must see! I promise, you will never look at another store sign the same. You will start admiring the work in every piece.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nostalgic, but I guess you need the tour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We were there as part of a reception, so tours were not in evidence. We just wandered around on our own. Since we did not pay to visit, we didn't feel that we didn't get our money's worth, but would probably not go back. It's something you visit 1 time.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed American Sign Museum also viewed

 

Been to American Sign Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage American Sign Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.