We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Istanbul Cafe

Istanbul Cafe
628 Vine St, 45202, Cincinnati, OH
513-421-5100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #85 of 1,724 restaurants in Cincinnati
Price range: $12 - $22
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Description: Istanbul Cafe will bring the authentic flavors and smells of kitchens right out of Istanbul, and straight to your table. Located in downtown Cincinnati Istanbul Cafe offers a unique dinning experience in a city spotted with chain and corporate restaurants. This family owned and operated restaurant will please foodies and eclectic dinners alike. The atmoshere here is simple and to the point all about the food, Turkish rugs, photo's, and mirrors dot the dinning room and turquoise walls.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I recently went for dinner with my husband to the Istanbul Cafe.
They only had one server, who was very friendly and made us feel like we were in a homey ambiance.
We started with a small Appetizer sampler for 2 (Humus, Eggplant Puree, Tabouli and Ezme with warm pita bread) everything was very good.
For Entree we shared a plate for 2 with 3 different Kebabs (chicken and lamb, I don't remember the names) with basmati rice and sauteed vegetables. It was very good!
For dessert we shared the Kunefe, it was amazing!
Overall the food was very good and the ambiance was really nice. Will certainly be back soon!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

96% Recommend
    12
    17
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ocean Springs
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great Turkish Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Something I learned in Turkey, you can tell how good an eatery is by the taste of their tea (Cay) ... the cay was outstanding! The staff, waiter and chef did a fantastic job of making our dining experience a great one. They are very quick to reply to emails and made me want to eat there. The food was extraordinary, as good as any Turkish Restaurant I have ever been to, Stateside and in Turkey. Granted, there are some things that just aren't the same (fresh bread from the local bakery is not the same as it is in Turkey).

We had the Adana kebab and İskender kebab and both were to die for! The lentil soup was good on a cold evening.

We topped off our experience with baklava, unfortunately, they make it American style, using walnuts instead of pistachios, but it was delicious nonetheless. Highly recommend this place.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Food - clean atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We took 2 of our out-of-town friends here before a CSO concert at the Music Hall. We tried the appetizer sampler ($17) and the Shish-K-Bob Sampler (serves four for $55). Both were very, very delicious and there was plenty of food for all four of us. The food came out on time and we were able to bring a bottle of wine in to share (the waiter even opened it for us and provided glasses!). The location is great - right downtown on Vine - near 6th street (parking lot on corner). The interior is clean and the service was very good. I highly recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Service is Critical”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Went here on a Saturday night with reservations at 6:30 for a 8:00 show at the Aronoff ( literally aound the corner 3 min walk) My husband and I were delighted to find a restaraunt downtown that allows you to BYOB as there are very few in this city at all. The waiter was great, and said it would be no problem to get to an 8:00 show given how much time we had allowed ourselves, so we happily ordered an appetizer immediately and ordered dinner by 6:50. The restaraunt was empty when we arrived and there were 4 parties who came in after us. At 7:15 when all the other tables had been served, our server came to our table to give us more pita and said dinner would be out shortly. At 7:25 he brought more Babaganoush and again said any minute. We sent it back saying we just wanted dinner. At 7:45 dinner arrived - 55 min after ordering I had a Falafel plate and my husband a kebob Nothing complicated or time consuming. We asked if they would please take something off the bill as we were not able to eat the dinner in 10 minutes. Their response? give us a plate of baklava so now we were going to need a third box if we wanted it, put the boxes in our car and get to the show before the doors closed. It was unexcusable and unbelievable that there was no sign of a manager or anyone to be the least bit accomodating. Yes the food was good the few bites I choked down in 5 minutes but the experience could not have been worse. There are many other Middle Eastern restaraunts downtown, and if this one wants to stay in business they seriously need to figure out customer service.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Truly authentic Turkish food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The Istanbul Cafe is a real find in down town Cincy. I've been to Istanbul and can truly say that this food is as good and as authentic Turkish cuisine as it is in Turkey. The best approach is to share an appetizer plate and then select from one of the entrees and share that too. However if you are dining alone, which a large number of tables were due to a convention in town (including me), it's also a great place to eat. It's BYO which is great to keep costs down, and there is a mini mart within "pitching wedge" distance (words of my server), which has beer and wine. Overall a great place for dinner or lunch.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Istanbul Cafe also viewed

Been to Istanbul Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Istanbul Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.