We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Only Place To Stay in Cincinnati” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clifton House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cincinnati
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Clifton House
500 Terrace Avenue, Cincinnati, OH 45220 (Clifton)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 16 Cincinnati B&B and Inns
ann arbor
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The Only Place To Stay in Cincinnati”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2007

The Clifton House was WONDERFUL! The people were very accomodating and always went the extra step to give us a truly amazing experience. We stayed in the 'cottage' and it was like stepping into a beautiful little seaside cottage in a Bronte novel...that is, a British cottage with a jacuzzi tub, two floors, an easy to use fireplace, etc.... The breakfasts were delicious, the neighborhood is historic. I stayed with my 60 year old mother and she loved it, in fact she thought she'd stepped into a Martha Stewart Living Magazine piece.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — There are steep stairs to get to the upstairs
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    8
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
25
4
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East of West
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2006

Clifton House in located in the University district of Cincinnati among historic homes with a funky/fun shopping area a short walk away. We stayed in the cottage (which is mostly a honeymoon hideaway although it is deligtful for an old married couple such as ourselves) which afforded some much needed privacy and quiet (in what can be a loud urban area). The proprieters are a delightful couple who have a fine sense of detail and desire to please their guests. My husband is allergic to scents and they immediately laundered our bedding with fragrence free detergent (Thanks!!). Being near the University the guest list is rife with doctors, authors, and other arty sorts. Breakfast conversation is sure to be interesting and reading material on hand ranges from the breezy to lit crit. Food is prepared by future chefs of America (from the culinary arts school) so you will not refuse breakfast. And go to the ice cream place.....they'll will tell you where it is and also the wonderful independent bookstore. (And the Zoo!) Cincinnati is actually a fun place to visit. Don't stay downtown when this is only a few miles away.

Stayed November 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2006

Awesome food and wonderful service.

  • Liked — comfy bed
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reading, MA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2005

For the past 10 years I have been staying at hotels for every one of my trips so this was actually the first time my wife and I stayed at a Bed & Breakfast and boy was it great.

All of the rooms are beautiful and very well kept. There is plenty of food, soda, magazines, books and so forth to help yourself with anytime you are hungry or bored (and what a surprise not to have to pay for food at a place you are staying compared to hotels). The place is run by Gus and Nancy who are both very nice people to talk to. They really go out of their way to make you feel at home and they do a fantastic job at that.

The neighborhood is rather historic and relaxing. There is plenty of parking in the area. I would strongly suggest anyone going to Cincinnati to check out the Clifton House. You will love it.

A+

  • Stayed October 2005, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2005

My husband and I stayed at The Clifton House Inn during an anniversary retreat. It was a wonderful getaway. We stayed in the Tuxedo Room, which was very sophisticated, but not stuffy. The best part of our stay was the hospitality provided by Nancy and Gus, the inkeepers. They were very friendly and helpful with ideas of where to go and what to do. And, as at any warm home, we often gathered in the kitchen to talk about our days! The inn is about two blocks from the Ludlow district and our room had a folder full of restaurant ideas. Ludlow had great dining and a restored movie theater that shows mainly "art movies."
There were so many wonderful touches around the inn. Not only was wine set out at cocktail time, there was a small refrigerator near the rooms stocked with bottled water, sodas and a few beers. All complimentary. The house was also filled with books and the best magazines!
We met several repeat guests while we were there and hope we will become one of them! I highly recommend The Clifton House.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2005

My husband and I stayed in the carriage house for our anniversary and it was wonderful. Our suite consisted of a large living room and full bath w/ whirpool tub downstairs. On the second floor was the bedroom w/ king bed. The suite was beautifully decorated and wonderfully restored, retaining much of the character of it's former use.
We toured most of the rooms inside of the main house and they were all nice, as well. Breakfast was good, but not great. They really need to work on their coffee, but I will admit that we are coffee snobs!
The Innkeepers were fun to chat up and they gave us a great recommendation for dinner. You can walk to a great little steet about two blocks away that is full of locally owned shops, restaurants, and coffee houses. Sort of Bohemian and eclectic. Nice place to walk around and blend in with the locals.
We will definately be back to the Clifton House.

  • Stayed July 2004
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2003

I have stayed at the Clifton House B&B three times for work in Cincinnati. Going there feels like home, but better! The historic building in the Clifton section of Cincinnati is near the University of Cincinnati. The rooms are elegant, well decorated and very comfortable. The main house has four guest rooms, all with their own bath and unique character, decorated in antiques and all quite comfortable. The carriage house has been turned into a bridal suite and is cozy, romantic and private. Breakfast is included and is always fantastic, including local Cincinnati favorites and is served in the spacious first floor living area. The hosts are the best! Wine and cheese after work was the highlight of the day. All in all, for a road warrior who spends 40 plus weeks in hotels per year, this is one of my favorites.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Clifton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifton House

Address: 500 Terrace Avenue, Cincinnati, OH 45220
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Clifton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Cincinnati
Also Known As:
Clifton House Cincinnati, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clifton House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Clifton House to your Saves list