We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a Cincinnati staycation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clifton House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cincinnati
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Clifton House
Save
You added Clifton House to your Saves list
500 Terrace Avenue, Cincinnati, OH 45220 (Clifton)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 16 Cincinnati B&B and Inns
cincinnati
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good for a Cincinnati staycation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights, and enjoyed our time. The house has so much character, it's fun just to sit and read, play piano or pool. We stayed in the garden suite which would be excellent in the summer as it features a 2nd floor patio with plants/flowers. As other posts have mentioned, you get brownies and wine when you check in. Another treat the whole place smells like breakfast all the time. Last perk, meeting interesting people at breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    10
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
28
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Avon Lake, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is a superb place if you have business at the University of Cincinnati. A great location very close to UC, and still within walking distance of great restaurants and other amenities. The host, Nancy, has seen to every detail, including complimentary wines, soft drinks, home baked brownies, and even fresh coffee outside your door at 6 AM. Breakfast was substantial, and prepared by a chef-graduate of the University culinary school. Do not stay in a business hotel downtown when you can be close and stay in a place like home. Rooms are large, well appointed, and have the modern touches sometimes missing from B & Bs.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the main house upstairs, such as the Romantic room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodridge, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Our host Nancy, was warm and welcoming. She had just baked brownies waiting for us...delicious! I was tagging along with my hubby, who was traveling on business. MUCH better than staying in a hotel. Our room was clean, our bed was comfortable, and the atmosphere was peaceful. The only thing i guess i was not impressed with was breakfast. It was ok. I think they were stumped with what to make for vegans. I suggest they become better prepared for any type of diet. It's within walking distance to some very good restaurants. Nice, old and historic neighborhood. Loved it!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Starkville, MS
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Ms. Nancy was fantastic. This was the best B&B experience I have had by far! Breakfast was unreasonably delicious, made the meals I ate at my business convention seem crappy by comparison. The house was beautiful and proximity to the yuppy fabulous Clifton district made it fun to go eat in the evenings and drink beer at Arlin's.
Will come again! This was strong strong strong, well worth the money.

Room Tip: Its all good. Have some complimentary wine too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, New York, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The Clifton House was the perfect connection for our Xavier family weekend in Cincinnati. The home and proprietor are equally wonderful and the food is beyond description. The value and quality are spot on.

We learned so much about the rich history of the inn as well as the surrounding area. Good conversation and tips on what to do made our weekend a more memorable experience.

We hope to return many more times to this exceptional home. Thank you Nancy for your kindness and conversation.

Room Tip: Each room has its own personality -- all are comfortable and welcoming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Thomas, Kentucky, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We were married and held our reception, September 2nd, 2012, at The Clifton House! It was truly a memorable day, with a beautiful, idyllic atmosphere, intimate gathering, and a very accomodating hostess in B&B owner, Nancy Niehaus. All of our guests continue to remark on the loveliness and enjoyment of the day. For all you travelers, it's the last word in being pampered! Nancy puts herself at your disposal! For our wedding night, my husband and I stayed in the cottage next door, which was very private and delightful. I enjoyed the luxurious bathroom, which included a jacuzzi bath . . . I personally felt like an egyptian queen! Also, Nancy brews up this "to-die-for" coffee from New Orleans, in the morning! Yummy! Ask for it by name, the "to-die-for coffee from New Orleans". :) She also serves up a delicious gourmet breakfast in the dining room, with more of that TDF coffee! I'm so very glad my memories of our special day involve The Clifton House. I recommend The Clifton House for a comfortable night while traveling, or extended stay in Cincinnati. My wedding guest from Virginia remarked that she really felt like she was in the heart of the "true Cincinnati" and the next time she comes back to visit, she knows where she'll be. If you like to be good to yourself, and enjoy comfort and pampering, this is the place!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, IL
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Our family reunion was recently held at the Clifton House. We took five of the available six rooms. Our hostess, Nancy, was most kind and wiling to offer advice on places to go or things to see. The breakfasts are prepared by chefs from the nearby Culinary School and are lovingly presented at the table, no details are spared. The rooms are spacious and most relaxing. The entire neighborhood architecture is awe inspiring. Bring your walking shoes and savor your walks, but be prepared for HILLS!!. The business district of Clifton is a terrific attraction, one you will want to cover. This is one we hope to return to someday!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clifton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifton House

Address: 500 Terrace Avenue, Cincinnati, OH 45220
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Clifton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Cincinnati
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Clifton House Cincinnati, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clifton House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.