We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clifton House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cincinnati
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Clifton House
Save
You added Clifton House to your Saves list
500 Terrace Avenue, Cincinnati, OH 45220 (Clifton)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 16 Cincinnati B&B and Inns
Roanoke, IL
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Our family reunion was recently held at the Clifton House. We took five of the available six rooms. Our hostess, Nancy, was most kind and wiling to offer advice on places to go or things to see. The breakfasts are prepared by chefs from the nearby Culinary School and are lovingly presented at the table, no details are spared. The rooms are spacious and most relaxing. The entire neighborhood architecture is awe inspiring. Bring your walking shoes and savor your walks, but be prepared for HILLS!!. The business district of Clifton is a terrific attraction, one you will want to cover. This is one we hope to return to someday!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    10
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
29
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

Gourmet breakfasts in waist-friendly proportions that are provided by culinary school students. The innkeeper is knowledgeable and very accommodating. The rooms on the third floor are separately zoned for AC and would be good for a family.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, MI
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Clifton House on April 9, 2012. Very nice room, wonderful, soft sheets, huge bathroom with a great shower (very good water pressure). Nancy was very welcoming; helpful and available without being overwhelming. The common areas of the home are very nice and welcoming; lots of books with history of Cincinnati available for guests to read. Breakfast was wonderful - everything was delicious. Nancy had many great suggestions for sights to see in the area. Next time we're staying in Cincinnati, we'll stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed at the Clifton House overnight for a coworker's wedding. Nancy welcomed us with wine and a fresh batch of brownies. The bed was incredibly comfortable and the breakfast was amazing. The morning we were there they put together a picture perfect breakfast. It started with an elegant berry medley then followed with an incredible vegetable and goat cheese frittata, thick cut bacon, fresh scone. The chefs Nancy uses are from a local culinary school and the students are putting a professional feather in their cap before they graduate and they got it spot on.

The B&B itself is nested in the Clifton neighborhood of Cincinnati which is block upon block of beautiful Victorian era homes. If you have some extra time, do yourself a favor and walk up Whittfield to Ludlow Avenue and take a right. There is several blocks of ethnic restaurants, a movie theatre, and a Skyline chile restaurant where you can take in the hometown chile specialty (not sure I get the attraction, but felt compelled to say I've tried it). Across from the Skyline is a unique fountain and steps to a small nature trail in Burnett woods. We were there during the summer so I followed the creek bed to a really nice park that had a staircase with a slide on it apparently built by the WPA in 1940. The slide was one of those unique finds you always hope for on your vacation--plus it was fairly fast, obviously from a less litigious era.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

9 years of weekly travel, in and out of hotels each week, I found home in Cincinnati when I found Nancy and the Clifton House. In place of cold cereal, packaged eggs, bad coffee, I wake up every morning to a fresh pot of coffee outside my door by 6:00 am and the amazing smell of a gourmet breakfast being prepared in the kitchen below. I enjoy this every morning before going off to work. I have a long term contract that takes me to Cincinnati each week. No more hotel walls and small space. I enjoy this great home, beautiful yard and a glass of complimentary wine each evening when I get off work. It is a slice of heaven that makes traveling a joy. Thank you Nancy!

Room Tip: Nancy has hidden exercise equipment in the basement for all of you work out guru's. All the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Clifton House is an attractive legacy property in an historic neighborhood near Cincinnati's best educational institutions. Surrounded by shrubs and flowers (including a lovely rose arbor), the attractive brick exterior of the house is matched by floors, woodwork, and furnishings of the interior. Breakfast is a special treat that is prepared by a chef from the Culinary Institute nearby (and well worth a visit itself). Although the main house and the spirited innkeeper are a welcome asset, resist the impulse to select the so-called Clifton Cottage behind the main house which is advertised as suitable for couples on honeymoon. Its ground floor is dank, suffering from apparent neglect and a far-too-long-in-place musty carpet that may (or may not) have been sprayed by a cat. With some renewal, the cottage could become a charming place. At present it is an over-priced and under-maintained two-storey mood-destroyer. Be particularly care of the stairs to the sleeping quarters--very steep and narrow. A trip to the bathroom (downstairs) in the night could become a disaster.

Room Tip: Select the main house (not the Clifton Cottage) for a fair chance to enjoy a pleasant stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

I'm a frequent busuness traveler and this past year I've booked over 15 B & B's throughout the Midwest. I have to say that Nancy really has a gem of a place! You will love the spaciousness of this beautiful home and it's proximity to some fun shops, great restaurants, La Poste (salmon and bread pudding outstanding) and a pleasant walk through the historical district is right outside your door. You feel you've gone back in time! Breakfast in the morning is full gourmet style breakfast served with beautful fine china. I have been here twice in 6 months and plan to go again in mid June.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clifton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifton House

Address: 500 Terrace Avenue, Cincinnati, OH 45220
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Clifton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Cincinnati
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Clifton House Cincinnati, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clifton House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.