We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Roebling Suspension Bridge

Roebling Suspension Bridge
Ohio River, Cincinnati, OH (Central Business District)
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #15 of 80 attractions in Cincinnati
Type: Bridges
Attraction Details
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

It's a nice bridge but nothing to go out of your way to see. We drove across it a few times and walked across it from our hotel in Kentucky to Great American Ballpark.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    39
    11
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sanford, NC
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Walk on a Piece of History...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The first thing many first time viewers say when they see this bridge is..."it looks similar to the Brooklyn Bridge". Since they were designed by the same man...John A. Roebling...there are obvious similarities.

I have walked and driven across this bridge many times in the past 40 years. I never tire of walking on the pedestrian path and stopping to observe the scenes from the bridge. I have enjoyed studying old photographs of the river scenes, especially those that include the bridge. Many sports fans park and walk from the Covington side to attend games.

One thing I wish could be added to the bridge would be historical photos with diagrams/descriptions showing you what the scenes looked like in days gone by.

Currently there is refurbishing going on on the eastern pedestrian side...the views on the west side are not as interesting, but still the experience is worth your time to take a stroll. And, best of all...it is free!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“I can write a review of a bridge? Sweet!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

So yea, we got this bridge in Cincinnati... it's pretty neato. I work on the Banks, and as I despise paying for parking, I cross this bridge and park in Kentucky, then walk it back to downtown to my job.

What to say about this bridge... it's a bridge. It sounds a bit funny, as the bridge isn't concrete but a bunch of metal and empty space that tires still manage to traverse just fine. You get used to it after driving over it several times, though.

It can get quite crowded on the walking space, as it's not very wide and sports games can draw loud crowds. Also, there can be homeless people/derelict people drinking alcohol in public, which can get a bit awkward.

Got a nice view, as it's centered between the stadiums. Definitely brings a nice start to a shift at work.

Yep, it's a bridge.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
French Lick, Indiana
2 reviews
“Very cool bridge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I was hoping to see the suspension bridge and had to cross it several times. It is very cool! Lots of people were walking across it. I'm glad I got to see it.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Classic last century design”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Great looking classic bridge, it actually was the test design for the Brooklyn Bridge in NYC and it's heritage is seen at first glance. Easy access to walk across to Kentucky and the view of the riverbank attractions are outstanding, bring your camera.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roebling Suspension Bridge also viewed

 

Been to Roebling Suspension Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roebling Suspension Bridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

You added Roebling Suspension Bridge to your Saves list