We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Old Bridge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roebling Suspension Bridge

Roebling Suspension Bridge
Ohio River, Cincinnati, OH (Central Business District)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 87 Attractions in Cincinnati
Type: Bridges
Attraction Details
Pompano Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Awesome Old Bridge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Growing up in a small town outside of Cincinnati, we were always excited to go downtown to see the bridge. I remember we used to love driving across it and humming along with the tone of the tires rolling over the open surface. They called it a singing road. Now, living in SoFlo, everytime I go home to visit, I always make sure to stop by and see the old bridge.

Be sure to go to the Kentucky side and snap photos down at the park. It's an amazing view of the Queen City.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    48
    11
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Independence, Kentucky
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Drive it every day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Love it. Great structure. Gets me to work with very little traffic. I believe it was built in preparation of the Brooklyn Bridge (sort of a "test" to see if it would work).

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beavercreek OH
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“History in the heartland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We've walked it, driven over it, sailed under it, yet never tire of seeing this 150 year old grand structure that was Roebling's tryout before building the Brooklyn bridge. It's a gem that is just one more standout on the jeweled Cincinnati riverfront. If you're lucky you'll get to see a paddlewheel riverboat down below, along with the barge traffic that is always just around the corner. Don't miss enjoying the blue bridge!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myerstown, PA
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“important piece of history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Actually all we did was drive over it a few times but it is an impressive structure and knowing it was designed/built by Roebling makes it an important part of American history.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cvg
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“It's just a bridge isn't it?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Roebling is a suspension bridge and the date on it is (I think) 1865. It is a prototype of the Brooklyn Bridge in New York. It is blue, has a humming metal flooring that sings as one drives across. One can look down and see the Ohio River flowing westward towards the Mississippi. A sight not to miss.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roebling Suspension Bridge also viewed

 

Been to Roebling Suspension Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roebling Suspension Bridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;