We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Old Bridge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roebling Suspension Bridge

Roebling Suspension Bridge
Ohio River, Cincinnati, OH (Central Business District)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 196 things to do in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Pompano Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Awesome Old Bridge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Growing up in a small town outside of Cincinnati, we were always excited to go downtown to see the bridge. I remember we used to love driving across it and humming along with the tone of the tires rolling over the open surface. They called it a singing road. Now, living in SoFlo, everytime I go home to visit, I always make sure to stop by and see the old bridge.

Be sure to go to the Kentucky side and snap photos down at the park. It's an amazing view of the Queen City.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    70
    13
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Independence, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Drive it every day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Love it. Great structure. Gets me to work with very little traffic. I believe it was built in preparation of the Brooklyn Bridge (sort of a "test" to see if it would work).

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beavercreek OH
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“History in the heartland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We've walked it, driven over it, sailed under it, yet never tire of seeing this 150 year old grand structure that was Roebling's tryout before building the Brooklyn bridge. It's a gem that is just one more standout on the jeweled Cincinnati riverfront. If you're lucky you'll get to see a paddlewheel riverboat down below, along with the barge traffic that is always just around the corner. Don't miss enjoying the blue bridge!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myerstown, PA
Level Contributor
112 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“important piece of history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Actually all we did was drive over it a few times but it is an impressive structure and knowing it was designed/built by Roebling makes it an important part of American history.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cvg
Level Contributor
90 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“It's just a bridge isn't it?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Roebling is a suspension bridge and the date on it is (I think) 1865. It is a prototype of the Brooklyn Bridge in New York. It is blue, has a humming metal flooring that sings as one drives across. One can look down and see the Ohio River flowing westward towards the Mississippi. A sight not to miss.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roebling Suspension Bridge also viewed

 

Been to Roebling Suspension Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roebling Suspension Bridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.