We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satuday afternoon under the stars” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cincinnati Observatory

Cincinnati Observatory
3489 Observatory Place, Cincinnati, OH 45208 (Hyde Park)
513-321-5186
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 141 things to do in Cincinnati
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Nineteenth-century observatory, designated as a National Historic Landmark, is known as the "Birthplace of American Astronomy."
Middletown, Ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Satuday afternoon under the stars”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I never tire of the Observatory. As a child I marveled at the shows. Now that technology has advanced the experience is mesmerizing.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Christmas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Had a company Christmas party here. It was cramped for our 100+ guest, but really neat place. Workers gave tours of the old telescope. I would like to come back.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Zincy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“want to go again with our son”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Attended a wedding there. Was very interesting. Very friendly and knowledgeable volunteers. Want to go back and take our son.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liberty twp, ohio
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Historic Cincinnati Observatory”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

If you are into Astronomy, this really is a great place to check out. Tours and nightly events to use the large telescope. THe historical site is great to walk around

Helpful?
Thank mybav1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A wealth of Cincinnati's history lies within these walls!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

The tour was informative, interesting, and even entertaining (the kids loved it). We not only learned a lot of amazing facts about the history of Cincinnati, but we were allowed to look in the huge, ancient telescopes and see the rings of Saturn! Incredible! Don't miss the opportunity for this family-oriented event.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Road_to_paradise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cincinnati Observatory also viewed

 

Been to Cincinnati Observatory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#