We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taste Of Cincinnati” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fountain Square

Fountain Square
5th and Vine Sts, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Central Business District)
513 621 4400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 63 Attractions in Cincinnati
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Landmarks
Attraction details
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
60 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Taste Of Cincinnati”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Taste of Cincinnati was on when we visited so it was very lively. Free bands playing and food stalls all around. Place was buzzing and worth the visit.

Seems like Cincinnati is the deep fried capital of America. We tried deep fried cheesecake and deep fried peanut butter and jelly sandwich. Despite our apprehension they were both very tasty even if something of a cholesterol special.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    124
    44
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Pretty cool.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Love to drive by when the fountain is decorated for Christmas. It is always a popular destination in the summer too. Sometimes it is overcrowded and that makes it not a good place to be.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cincinnati
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Ice Skating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Ice skating rink at Fountain Square during winter is a great way to be outdoors during those dark months and yet have fun. You can either try Ice skating if you are adventurous or just watch others skate if you like to play it safe. In December, they have Chrsitmas music and lights at the Arena.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Not much in the way of an attraction in itself”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Yes, Fountain Square does have history. Sure, the fountain itself is beautiful and I heard there's ice skating in the winter. And to be fair, there are random concerts and things that do pop up frequently enough that (I believe) generally are free.

But there's really not enough here to really be labelled an attraction. Definitely a place to stop and look for a bit if you're traversing the city exploring, or happen to be passing by, but as far as being a tourist goes I would recommend going to the Museum Center or one of our lovely parks.

Nothing bad to say, just nothing glowing either.

Well, I will say one nice thing: I like the layout of the area. Nice and open, lined with restaurants of varying levels of expense.

OH and they have very nice public bathrooms. I always find that to be highly important.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice area!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This park was amazing! Nice view and very well kept up. The flowers were beautiful. I would visit here again.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fountain Square also viewed

 

Been to Fountain Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fountain Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.